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State Taxes and Fees 

Overview and Table of Contents 

This section summarizes most of the state's transportation taxes and fees, the major source of revenue for 

state transportation purposes.  After being collected by the administering agency (usually the Department 

of Licensing), these user taxes and fees are sent to the State Treasurer, placed into accounts as directed by 

statute, and expended after being appropriated by the Legislature.   

The Department of Revenue’s Tax Reference Manual 2010 provides more information about Washington 

State taxes.  The fee inventory on fiscal.wa.gov also provides information on fees charged by the 

Departments of Licensing and Transportation.   

The Transportation Revenue Forecast documents can be found on the OFM web site at the 

following address: http://www.ofm.wa.gov/budget/info/transportationrevenue.asp  

Some taxes and fees in this chapter are designated as “restricted to highway purposes” based on language 

in the 18th amendment to the state constitution which specifies that:  

“license fees for motor vehicles and all excise taxes collected by the State of Washington on the 

sale, distribution or use of motor vehicle fuel and all other state revenue intended to be used for 

highway purposes must be restricted to highway purposes . . . and this section shall not be 

construed to . . . apply to vehicle operator's license fees”  

Intended use for highway purposes has customarily been established by depositing fee or tax revenue in 

accounts created “in the motor vehicle fund.”  A list of accounts organized by whether expenditures from 

the account are restricted to highway purposes can be found in the State Accounts chapter.  
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Summary of Transportation Taxes and Fees, 2017-19 
(November 2016 Transportation Revenue Forecast) 

 

 
Revenue Source 

 
Amount 

 
2017-19 Forecast 

TRANSPORTATION TAXES (amendments to Chapter 82 RCW) 

 

Aircraft Excise Tax 

 

$20-$125 per year by type of aircraft 

 

$721,000 to Aeronautics Account 

 

Aircraft Fuel Tax 

 

11 cents per gallon 

 

$5.1 million 

 

 

International Fuel Tax Agreement 

Decals 

 

$10 per set of decals per year 

 

$707,400 

 

Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax & Special 

Fuel Tax 

 

49.4 cents per gallon 

 

$3,406.9 million 

(net for distribution) 

 

Natural Gas and Propane Fee 

 

$190.25 to $1,034.17 per year 

 Includes $5.00 handling fee  

 

Minimal 

 

Rental Vehicle Sales Tax 

 

5.9% of rental contract amount 

 

$69.5 million 

 

 

Retail Sales and Use Tax on Motor 

Vehicles 

 

0.3% of selling price in addition to state and 

local sales taxes 

 

$100.4 million 

 

Watercraft Excise Tax 

 

 

0.5% of fair market value ($5 minimum) 

 

$26.4 million 

VEHICLE FEES 

 

Camper Registration Fee 

 

$4.90 Original; $3.50 Renewal 

 

$0.16 million 

 

Commercial Vehicle Safety 

Enforcement Fee 

 

$16 per vehicle per year 

 

$6.1 million 

 

Electric Vehicle License Fee 

 

$150 per year 

 

$5.1 million 

 

Farm Exempt Decal Fee 

 

$5 one-time fee 

 

Minimal 

 

Farm Vehicle Reduced Gross Weight 

Fee 

 

Fee varies by weight, starting at $24.50 for 

vehicles up to 4,000 pounds 

 

$2.0 million 

 

Farm Vehicle Trip Permit Fee 

 

$6.25 for partial month, up to four permits 

authorized per year 

 

 

$6,200 

 

License Fee by Weight 

 

$53 to $3,400 per year 

 

$464.8 million 

 

License Plate Fees 

 

$10.00 per plate for original issue 

$10.00 per plate for replacement plate 

$4.00 per plate for motorcycle 

$1.50 per plate for moped 

$20.00 per vehicle retaining current license 

plate number 

$10.00 license plate transfer fee 

 

Original: $30.5 million 

Plate replacement: $29.5 million 

Plate number retention: $59,100  

Dealer Plates:  $1.3 million 

 

License Plate Reflectivity Fee 

 

$2 per plate 

 

$12.3 million 

License Plate Technology Fee $0.25 per plate $3.4 million 
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License Service Fee $0.50 per plate $6.7 million 

 

Log Truck Additional Weight Permit 

 

$50 per year beginning April 1, prorated for 

shorter time periods 

$37.50 if issued after July 1 

$25 if issued after October 1 

$12.50 if issued after January 1  

 

Included in Special Permit Fee for 

Oversize/Overweight Movements 

 

Mobile Home Title Elimination Fee 

 

$25 per application (set by DOL Director) 

 

Minimal 

 

Monthly Declared Gross Weight Fee 

 

$2 for each month vehicle used plus a $2 

admin fee (paid in addition to prorated 

license fee by weight)   

 

$1.1 million 

 

Motor Home Weight Fee 

 

$75 annual fee 

 

$10.4 million 

 

Off-Road Vehicle Fees 

 

 

$18 license fee (initial/renewal fee) 

$5 ORV transfer fee 

$7 60-day temporary use permit 

$2 for a 7 year metal tag 

 

$2.1 million 

 

Passenger Vehicle Weight Fee 

 

$25-$72 for motor vehicle weight fee 

 

$314.1 million 

 

Personalized License Plates 

 

$52 for original plates 

$42 for renewal 

In addition to regular vehicle registration fee  

 

$8.1 million 

 

Private Use Single-Axle Trailer Fee 

 

$15 annual fee for trailers of 2,000 pound 

scale weight or less 

 

$12.2 million 

 

Proportional Registration Plates and 

Fees 

 

$10 apportioned plates 

$2 cab card 

$2 tabs 

$4.50 transaction fee 

 

 

$87.9 million 

 

Recreational Vehicle Sanitary 

Disposal Fee 

 

$3.00  

 

$1.4 million 

 

Service Fees on Titles and 

Registration Renewals (formerly 

subagent fees)  

$5 service fee for each renewal or obtain 

initial vehicle registration (county auditors & 

DOL transactions only) 

$12 service fee for title transactions 

$28.2 million 

 

Special License Plates 

 

$0 - $45  

 

Minimal 

 

Special Permit for 

Oversize/Overweight Movement 

 

 

Single Trip -- $10 

30-day permit (Oversize) - $10 to $20 

30-day permit (Overweight) $70 to $90 

1 year permit (Oversize) - $100 to $150 

1 year permit (Overweight garbage trucks) - 

$42/1000 lbs. 

 

$17.3 million 

 

Trip Permit Fee 

 

$25 for three days  

 

$7.7 million 

 

Trip Permit, Special Fuel Users  

 

$30  

 

$420,000  

 

Vehicle Certificate of Title and 

Inspection Fees 

 

$15 Certificate of Title 

$15 Stolen Vehicle Check 

$65 WSP VIN Inspection 

$50 Quick Title Fee 

 

$70.4 million Certificate 

$13.9 million Inspection 

$4.1 million Quick title 
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Vehicle Registration Fee (License Fee)  

$30 Original & Renewal 

 

$341.9 million 

 

Wheeled All-Terrain Vehicles 

 

On-road $12 initial and renewal 

Off-road $18 initial and renewal 

Both:  $2 metal tag, every 7 years 

On-road use  $125,700 

Off-road use  $1.08 million 

DRIVERS FEES 

 

Commercial Driver License 

 

$102 every six years or $17 per year for the 

time remaining on your license plus $54 for 

basic driver license  

$10 CDL special endorsement to the WA 

driver license 

$40 Commercial license permit (CLP) 

$35 CDL knowledge test 

$250 CDL skills test        

$35 CDL re-qualification fee 

 

 

$12.6 million 

 

Driver’s Abstract 

 

$13 per copy 

  $6.50 to Highway Safety Fund (HSF) 

  $6.50 to State Patrol Highway Account 

(WSP) 

 

$54.8 million 

$27.4 million to HSF 

$27.4 million to WSP 

 

Driver Instruction Permit 

 

$25 for photo or non-photo (good for one 

year) 

 

$6.3 million 

 

Driver License Examination Fee 

 

$35 per exam 

 

$20.6 million 

 

Driver License Fee 

 

$9 per year or $54 for six year license  

 

$113.2 million 

Driver License Photo-Only Fee $10 per license/identification card/permit $3.0 million 

 

Driver License Reinstatement and 

Hearing Fees 

 

$75 (non-alcohol-related offense) 

$150 (alcohol-related offense) 

$375 Hearing Fee 

 

$13.7 million reinstatement 

$4.1 million Hearings 

 

Duplicate Driver License Fee 

 

$20 per license/ ID card/ permit 

 

$12.0 million 

 

Enhanced Driver License/Identification 

Card Fee 

 

$54 additional fee for original or renewal 

with driver license or identification card, 6 

years 

($9 per year if less than 6 years) 

 

$17.2 million 

Identicards $54 for 6-year identicard, $9 per year $14.8 million 

 

Motorcycle Endorsement Fee/Instruction 

Permits 

 

$12 initial 6-year endorsement ($2/year) 

$30 renewal endorsement, every 6 years 

($5/year) 

$5 examination fee 

$15 instruction permit 

 

 

$5.0 million 

Temporary Restricted Driver License 

and Deice Fees – Ignition Interlock and 

Occupational 

$100 occupation, a temporary restricted or 

ignition interlock driver’s license fee 

$20 per month per ignition interlock device 

$2.0 million Temporary 

Restricted License 

$6.5 million Ignition Interlock 

Device 

FARES AND TOLLS 

 

Ferry Fares 

 

Fares set by Transportation Commission + 

25 cent vessel replacement surcharge 

Ferry System fare calculator 

 

$388.6 million (fares), of which 

$8.2 million is attributable to the 

25 cent surcharge 

 

Tolling SR 167 HOT Lanes 

 

$0.50 to $9.00 dynamic toll 

 

$4.58 million if SR 167 HOT 

lanes pilot project extended 

  

http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/ferries/fares/
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Tolling – I-405 Express Toll 

Lanes 

Varies depending on the day of the week, 

time of day and type of customer 

View tolls on WSDOT website 

$56.6 million 

 

Tolling – SR 520 Bridge 

 

Varies depending on the day of the week, 

time of day and type of customer 

Toll schedule 

 

$177  million 

 

Tolling - Tacoma Narrows 

Bridge 

 

$6 Cash Toll 

$5 Electronic Toll 

$7 Pay By Mail 

 

$168.9 million 

BUSINESS LICENSES 

For-Hire Business Permit 

and Vehicle Certificates 

For-Hire: $110 original business license (no 

renewal) 

$55 per year per vehicle for certificate 

(original, changed, or duplicate) 

Limousine:  $350 per year business license 

$75 per year per vehicle for certificate 

$20 Changed and duplicate vehicle 

certificates 

$25 Training course applications 

For-Hire $282,500 

Limousine  $809,500  

 

Hulk Haulers, Scrap 

Processors, Wreckers 

License Fees 

 

$10 original, renewal--Hulk Haulers 

$25 original, $10 renewal--Scrap Processors 

$25 original, $10 renewal--Wreckers 

 

Included in Vehicle Dealers and 

Manufacturers Revenue Forecast 

 

Tow Truck Capacity Fee 

 

$25 per year in addition to the basic motor 

vehicle license fee, but in lieu of the License 

Fee by Weight 

 

$65,800 

 

Tow Truck Operator Fee 

 

$100 per year for business; $50 per vehicle 

per year 

Included in Vehicle Dealers and 

Manufacturers Revenue Forecast 

 

Transporter License Fee and 

Plates 

 

$25 for new license 

$15 for annual renewal 

$2 per set of plates 

Included in Vehicle Dealers and 

Manufactures Revenue Forecast 

 

Trip Permit, Dealers and 

Manufacturers 

 

$15 

 

$15.4 million 

 

Vehicle Dealers and 

Manufacturers 

 

Original fee (Renewal fee) 

Dealer, Principal location--$975 ($325) 

Dealer, Subagency--$100 ($25) 

Dealer Temporary subagent--$100 ($25) 

Manufacturer--$500 ($250) 

 

$3.6 million  

(includes license fee revenue from hulk 

haulers, scrap processors, wreckers, tow 

trucks, and transporters) 

AIRCRAFT AND VESSEL FEES 

Aircraft Dealers License Fee $75 per calendar year 

$10 for additional certificates 

Minimal 

 

Aircraft Registration Fee 

 

$15 per year per aircraft 

 

$212,300 

 

Vessel Pilot License Fee 

 

$6,500 per year 

 

$750,000 

 

Vessel Registration Fee 

 

$10.50 per year 

 

$5.3 million 

 

Vessel Visitor Permit 

 

$30 at the time of issuance of identification 

document.   

 

Minimal 

  

http://www.wsdot.com/traffic/seattle/flowmaps/i-405toll.aspx
http://www.wstc.wa.gov/HighwayTolling/SR520Bridge.htm
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Washington State Revenue Drivers for Fiscal Year 2016 

 

Vehicles paying Basic License Fee ($30) 

 

Passenger Cars and Cabs ...................................................................... 4,908,456 

Motor Homes ............................................................................................. 68,720 

Travel Trailers ......................................................................................... 142,484 

Motorcycles ............................................................................................. 236,134 

Other Trailers ........................................................................................... 115,059 

Tow Trucks .................................................................................................. 1,389 

 

Vehicles paying Weight-based Registration Fee (Trucks) 

 

Trucks ................................................................................................... 1,539,232 

For Hire, Buses, Stages ................................................................................ 3,760 

Combination License Fee Trailers ............................................................. 76,964 

Prorate Motor Vehicles .............................................................................. 29,179 

 

Vehicles paying Varying Fees 

 

Restored and Antiques ............................................................................... 10,769 

Campers ..................................................................................................... 23,358 

Mopeds ........................................................................................................ 8,671 

Exempt ......................................................................................................... 8,542 

Personal Trailers ...................................................................................... 449,369 

Off-Road Vehicles ..................................................................................... 84,783 

Wheeled All-Terrain Vehicles ..................................................... 21,327 

Snowmobiles ............................................................................................. 24,148 

Vintage Snowmobiles ....................................................................... 373 

 

Total Washington State Vehicle Registrations ..................................................... 7,732,019 

 

Total Washington State Vessels Registrations ......................................................... 229,941 

 
Gasoline/Diesel Consumption (millions of gallons) .................................................... 3,520 

 

Drivers Licenses Issued 

Originals .................................................................................................. 302,041 

Renewals/Extensions ............................................................................... 933,876 

 

Traffic Volumes 

Ferry Passengers ................................................................................. 13,523,385 

Ferry Car/Driver ................................................................................. 10,559,240 

 

Tacoma Narrows Bridge ..................................................................... 14,800,360 

SR 167 HOT Lanes ............................................................................... 1,128,750 

SR 520 Bridge .................................................................................... 23,217,000 

I-405 Express Lanes ............................................................................. 7,517,562 
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TRANSPORTATION TAXES 
(Amendments to Chapter 82 RCW)  
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REVENUE SOURCE: Aircraft Excise Tax  

AUTHORIZED: RCW 82.48.030 

RCW 82.48.080 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Aircraft owner 

RATE: Single-engine fixed wing, $50; small multiengine fixed wing, $65; 

large multi-engine fixed wing, $80; turboprop multiengine fixed 

wing, $100; turbojet multiengine fixed wing, $125; helicopter, $75; 

sailplane, $20; lighter than air, $20; home built, $20.  Collected at 

first registration and annually thereafter.  

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Transportation – Aviation Division 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Aeronautics Account  

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for state grants to airports and to cover the cost of 

administration of the DOT Aviation Division. 

EXEMPTIONS: Aircraft owned by U.S. government or political subdivision; aircraft 

registered by foreign country; aircraft registered in another state 

unless based in this state for 90 days or longer; aircraft engaged in 

interstate commerce; aircraft owned by manufacturer or dealer if 

part of stock in trade; aircraft owned by a nonprofit organization 

exempt from federal income tax under 26 U.S.C.  Sec. 501(c)(3), 

and, be exclusively used to provide emergency medical 

transportation services (RCW 82.48.100). 

HISTORY: 1949 1% of fair market value of aircraft per year 

1967 $15 single-engine aircraft; $25 multiengine 

1983 See current tax rates above 

2015        100% of tax deposited to the Aeronautics Account 

2015–17 FORECAST: 
 

$710,294 Aeronautics Account 

2017-19 FORECAST: $721,100 Aeronautics Account 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.48.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.48.080
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REVENUE SOURCE: Aircraft Fuel Tax  

AUTHORIZED: RCW 82.42.020 

RCW 82.42.090 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Aircraft fuel users 

RATE: 11 cents per gallon 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Aeronautics Account  

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for administration of the DOT Aviation Division, 

airport construction and maintenance, and local airport aid. 

EXEMPTIONS: Include, but are not limited to, exported fuel, commercial use, 

research, testing, training, and emergency medical air transport 

entities (RCW 84.42.030). 

HISTORY: 1967 2 cents/gallon on retail sales 

1982 Agricultural spray planes exempted 3% x weighted average 

retail price in third month of fiscal 1/2 year. 

1983 Minimum rate set at 5 cents 

1989 5.5 cents 

1991 January 6.5 cents 

1991 July 6.0 cents 

1997 June 6.0 cents 

2000 July 6.5 cents 

2001 January 7.5 cents 

2002 July 7.0 cents 

2003 July 10 cents 

2005 July 11 cents 

2015–17 FORECAST: $3.7 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $5.1 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $463,600 per one-cent increase per biennium 
 

 

 

For comprehensive information on the Aviation Fuel Tax, see JLARC's 2011 Tax Preference 

Performance Reviews, pages 23 to 34. 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.42.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.42.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.42.030
http://leg.wa.gov/jlarc/AuditAndStudyReports/Pages/2011TaxPreferences.aspx
http://leg.wa.gov/jlarc/AuditAndStudyReports/Pages/2011TaxPreferences.aspx
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REVENUE SOURCE: International Fuel Tax Agreement Decal 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 82.38.110 (8) (fee) 

RCW 82.38.290 (where deposited) 

Chapter 82.41 RCW (authorization to participate in a multi-state 

agreement) 

WHO PAYS: Motor Carrier– Commercial vehicles over 26,000 pounds gross 

vehicle weight in 2 or more states or provinces; vehicles with 3 or 

more axles regardless of weight; and a combination of vehicles that 

weigh more than a total of 26,000 pounds gross vehicle or 

registered gross vehicle weight (doesn’t include recreational 

vehicles). 

RATE: $10 per year per set of decals 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Highway purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 2002     $10 

2015-17 FORECAST: $666,687 

2017-19 FORECAST: $707,400 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $67,000 per $1 fee increase per biennium  

  

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=82.38.110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.38.290
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=82.41
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REVENUE SOURCE: Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax and Special Fuel Tax (Gas Tax) 
Restricted to highway purposes 

RCW: 
Chapter 82.38 RCW (fuel tax act) 

RCW 82.38.030 (fuel tax rate) 

RCW 46.68.090 (distribution of motor fuel tax revenue) 

RCW 46.68.110 (distribution of amount allocated to cities and towns) 

RCW 46.68.120 (distribution of amount allocated to counties) 

WHO PAYS: The tax is imposed at the time of fuel removal from a terminal rack in 

Washington.   Gasoline and diesel distributors pay the same rate. 

RATE: 49.4 cents per gallon 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account (RCW 46.68.070) 

Transportation 2003 (Nickel) Account  (RCW 46.68.280) 

Transportation Partnership Account  (RCW 46.68.290) 

 (RCW 46.68.395) 

Rural Arterial Trust Account (RCW 36.79.020) 

Transportation Improvement Account (RCW 47.26.084) 

Connecting Washington Account (RCW 46.68.395) 

County Arterial Preservation Account (RCW 46.68.090(2)(i)) 

Special Category C Account (RCW 46.68.090(2)(b)) 

Puget Sound Ferry Operations Account (RCW 47.60.530) 

Puget Sound Capital Construction Account (RCW 47.60.505) 

A portion of fuel tax (representing unclaimed nonhighway use refunds) is 

transferred to the following accounts:  

 Marine Fuel Tax Refund Account (RCW 79A.25.040) 

 Recreation Resource Account (RCW 79A.25.070, RCW 

79A.25.200) 

 ORV and Nonhighway Vehicle Account (RCW 46.09.520) 

 Nonhighway and Off-Road Vehicle Activities Program Account 

(RCW 46.09.510, RCW 46.09.520) 

 Snowmobile Account (RCW 46.68.350, RCW 46.10.510) 

 Aeronautics Account (RCW 82.42.090, 82.36.415) 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Cost of administration 

Refunds & transfers 

State highways, City streets, County roads 

Ferry operations and capital construction 

 

EXEMPTIONS: Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax (gasoline) exemptions only  

 Motor vehicle fuel eligible for refunds (RCW 82.38.180), 

including nonhighway use, exported fuel, lost or destroyed fuel, 

power take-off equipment. 

 Exempt sales (RCW 82.38.080(2)) include sales to the armed 

forces or to the national guard when the fuel is used in ships or 

for export, employees/representatives of foreign governments, 

and fuel used exclusively for racing not legally allowed on 

public highways. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.38
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.38.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.280
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.290
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.68.395
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=36.79.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.26.084
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.60.530
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.60.505
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=79A.25.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=79A.25.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=79A.25.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=79A.25.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.09.520
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.09.510
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.09.520
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.350
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.10.510
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.42.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.36.415
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.38.180
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=82.38.080
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Special fuel tax exemptions only: 

 Dyed special fuel (special fuel not used on public highways) 

 Exempt sales include: (RCW 82.38.080(1): government-owned 

vehicles used for road construction and maintenance, public 

owned fire-fighting equipment, U.S. government vehicles, 

transportation providers for persons with special needs, waste 

vegetable oil used in biodiesel manufacture, urban transportation 

systems both public and private. 

TAX HISTORY: 1921    1 cent/gallon 

1929    2 cents 

1931    4 cents 

1933    5 cents; off-highway refunds 

1935    Fuel oil at 1/4 cent/gallon 

1941    5 cents on use fuel (diesel) 

1944    18th Amendment to State Constitution 

1949    6.5 cents/repeal fuel oil tax of 1935 

1961    7.5 cents 

1967    9 cents 

1977    11 cents 

1979    12 cents 

1981    13.5 cents 

1982    12 cents (variable rate study decrease) 

1983    16 cents 

1984    18 cents 

1990    22 cents (effective April 1, 1990) 

1991    23 cents (effective April 1, 1991) 

1999    Raised the imposition of the motor fuel tax from the 

distributor/dealer to the supplier (terminal-rack)   

2003   28 cents (effective July 1, 2003) 

2005   31 cents (effective July 1, 2005) 

2006   34 cents (effective July 1, 2006) 

2007   36 cents (effective July 1, 2007) 

2008   37.5 cents (effective July 1, 2008) 

2015   44.5 cents (effective August t1, 2015) 

2016   49.4 cents (effective July 1, 2016)  

  
 

2015-17 FORECAST: $3,044.8 million (net for distribution*) 

2017-19 FORECAST: $3,406.9 million (net for distribution*) 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $69 million per 1 cent increase per biennium 

*Net for Distribution – Gross gas tax collections less refunds for non-highway use, transfers to non-highway 

accounts in lieu of refunds, and administrative expenses of the Department of Licensing. 

 

 

 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.38.080
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Distribution of 49.4-Cent Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax Graph 
Fuel Tax Revenue Distribution – 2015-17 Biennium 

 

 

 

 

 

Note:  Motor Vehicle Account revenue includes funds  not available for distribution:  supervision, studies and 

CRAB allocations.  
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Motor Fuel Tax Distributions 
2009-11 BIENNIUM THROUGH 2015–17 BIENNIUM (1) 

(Dollars in Millions) 

 
 09-11 11-13 13-15 15-17  

Gross Gasoline Tax  $2,011.7  $2,001.8  $2,058.5   $2,629.3  

 Less: Non-Highway Refunds 7.4 12.3 17.9 27.6  

 Less: Tribal Reservation Refunds 40.9 51.5 56.3 72.9  

 Less: Aeronautics Transfer 0.6 0.6 0.6 0.7  

 Less: General Transfer 1.1 1.34   1.2 1.3  

 Less: Marine Transfer 11.7 12.3 12.7 18.0  

 Less: Outdoor RV Transfer 11.5 11.8 12.1 17.5  

 Less: Snowmobile Transfer 1.8 1.7 1.4 2.1  

Gross Special Fuel Tax 480.5 481.5   494.7   618.9    

 Less: Refunds & Transfers 40.3 49.1 27.1 29.8  

 Less: Tribal Reservation Refunds 4.0 6.2 8.6 10.1  

Less Administrative Expenses      

 Department of Licensing 15.9 15.4 16.7 23.3  

 State Treasurer 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0  

      

Net Fuel Tax for Distribution (2)  $2,357.2  $2,321.1 $2,392.7  $3,044.8  

      

State Highway Account (MVA) (3) 614.7 631.9 651.4 691.1  

Transportation 2003 Account (Nickel) 314.3 309.5 319.0 333.5  

Transportation Partnership Account (TPA) 534.3 526.1 542.3 566.9  

State Highway Program – Special Category C 47.1  46.4 47.8 50.0  

Connecting Washington Account 

Ferry Capital Construction 

0.0 

34.3 

0.0 

33.8 

0.0 

34.8 

543.9 

36.4 

 

Ferry Operations 43.5 42.6 43.9 52.3  

Transportation Improvement Account (8) 191.3 188.4 194.2 205.0  

Cities, Regular and TPA Distribution (4) (5) 180.8 178.0 183.5 191.8  

Counties, Regular and TPA Distribution (4) (6) (7) 292.8 289.1 297.9 305.0  

County Arterial Preservation Program 28.3 27.9 28.7 30.0  

Rural Arterial Program 36.7 36.1 37.2 38.9  

Total $2,357.2  $2,321.1 $2,392.7 $3,044.8  

Notes: (Totals may differ due to rounding.) 

(1)  Based on Fuel Tax Revenue Forecast November 2016. 

(2)  Net fuel tax is net of transfers and refunds for fuel used for non-highway purposes such as marine, 

snowmobile, and other non-highway uses. 

(3)  2015-17 MVA revenue includes funds not available for distribution: $10.3 million for studies, state 

supervision purposes and CRAB allocations. 

(4)  1.5% and 0.33% are transferred from the cities and the counties normal distribution to the state, for 

state supervision and studies, respectively. 

(5)  1% of cities normal distribution is transferred to the Small City Pavement and Sidewalk Account for 

expenditure on the City Hardship Assistance Program. 

(6) Less withholding for County Road Administration Board 

(7) Less revenues transferred to Ferry Operations from Capron refunds to Island and San Juan counties. 

(8) Excludes transfer from the city distributions to the Transportation Improvement Account to fund the 

City Hardship Assistance Program 
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Distribution of 49.4-Cent Gas Tax* 

Dedicated 23-Cent Distribution 

RCW 46.68.090(2) 

State Highway Program (Motor Vehicle Account) 

State Highway Program (Special Category C) 

Counties  

Cities  

Ferry Operations 

Ferry Capital Construction 

Rural Arterial Trust Program 

County Arterial Preservation Program 

Transportation Improvement Account 

    TOTAL 

44.3870% 

3.2609% 

19.2287% 

10.6961% 

2.3283% 

2.3726% 

2.5363% 

1.9565% 

13.2336% 

100.00% 

 

10.21 cents 

0.75 cents 

4.42 cents 

2.46 cents  

0.54 cents 

0.55 cents 

0.58 cents 

0.45 cents 

3.04 cents 

23.00 cents 

 

Dedicated 5-Cent Distribution 

RCW 46.68.090(3) 

Transportation 2003 Account 100% 5.00 cents 

Dedicated 9.5-Cent Distribution 

RCW 46.68.090(4)(c)(5)(c)(6) 

Transportation Partnership Account 83.3334% 8.50 cents 

RCW 46.68.090(4)(a)(5)(a) 

City Distributions 8.3333% 0.50 cents 

RCW 46.68.090(4)(b)(5)(b) 

County Distributions 8.3333% 0.50 cents 

    TOTAL 100.00% 9.50 cents 

Dedicated 11.9-Cent Distribution 

RCW 46.68.090(7) 

Connecting Washington Account 100.00% 11.9 cents 

*DOL costs of collection, refunds, and transfers related to non-highway use of motor fuel are 

deducted from gross collections before the above distributions are calculated.   

 

 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.090
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49.4-Cent Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax – Distributions and Uses 

STATE HIGHWAY PROGRAM 

 Distribution: 10.21 cents  

 Revenue deposited in Motor Vehicle Account 

 Appropriated for Department of Transportation highway programs 

2015-2017 estimate: $680.8 million  

TRANSPORTATION 2003 ACCOUNT (NICKEL ACCOUNT) 

 Distribution: 5.00 cents  

 Account created in 2003 to be the repository of the 5-cent tax increase.  Account used for 

cash funding for highway and ferry projects identified by the Legislature and for the 

payment of costs for bond sales to provide debt financing for highway projects. 

 2015-2017 estimate: $333.5 million 

TRANSPORTATION PARTNERSHIP ACCOUNT 

 Distribution: 8.50 cents 

 New account created in 2005 to be the repository of 8.5 cents of a 9.5-cent tax increase. 

Account used for cash funding for highway and ferry projects identified by the 

Legislature and for the payment of costs for bond sales to provide debt financing for 

highway projects.  Remaining 1 cent distributed to cities and counties. 

 2015-2017 estimate: $566.9 million 

STATE HIGHWAY PROGRAM – SPECIAL CATEGORY C 

 Distribution: 0.75 cents 

 Revenue deposited in Motor Vehicle Account 

 Provides bond financing for high-cost projects 

 Project list includes First Avenue South Bridge in Seattle, SR 18 from Auburn to North 

Bend, and the North-South Corridor in Spokane. 

 2015-2017 estimate: $50.0 million 

CONNECTING WASHINGTON ACCOUNT 

 Distribution: 11.9 cents  

 Account created in 2015 to be the repository of two rate increases: 7-cent tax increase in 

FY 2016 and another 4.9-cent tax increase in FY 2017.  Account used for cash funding 

for highway and ferry projects identified by the Legislature and for the payment of costs 

for bond sales to provide debt financing for highway projects. 

 2015-2017 estimate: $543.9 million 

RURAL ARTERIAL PROGRAM 

 Distribution: 0.58 cents 

 Revenue deposited in Rural Arterial Trust Account 

 Distributed by County Road Administration Board (CRAB) to counties on a regionally 

competitive basis for construction and reconstruction of rural arterials and collectors.  

Regional allocation is based on rural land area and eligible road mileage. 

 2015-2017 estimate: $38.9 million 

TRANSPORTATION IMPROVEMENT ACCOUNT (TIB FUNDED PROGRAMS) 

 Distribution: 3.04 cents or 13.2336 percent of 23 cents deposited in the Transportation 

Improvement Account, summed from two separate distributions of 7.5597 percent and 

5.6739 percent. 

 Administered by the Transportation Improvement Board (TIB) 

 2015-2017 estimate:  $203.0 million (excludes the $2.0 million transfer from the city 

distributions to the Transportation Improvement Account to fund the City Hardship 

Assistance Program). 
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COUNTY ARTERIAL PRESERVATION PROGRAM 

 Distribution: 0.45 cents 

 Revenue deposited in County Arterial Preservation Account 

 To sustain structural, safety, and operational integrity of urban and rural county arterials 

 Distributions by County Road Administration Board (CRAB) based on paved arterial 

lane miles in unincorporated areas. 

 2015-2017 estimate: $30.0 million  

 
COUNTIES – REGULAR AND TRANSPORTATION 2005 LEGISLATION 
DISTRIBUTION 

 Distribution: 4.92 cents (4.83 cents after deductions for state supervision and studies) 

 Pierce, Skagit and Whatcom counties are first reimbursed for 50% of any deficit incurred 

during the previous fiscal year in operating their county-owned ferry systems (limited to 

$1,800,000 in the 2015-17 biennium and inflated by the fiscal growth factor in the future) 

(RCW 47.56.725)). 

 1.5% is provided to DOT and CRAB for statutory regulation, supervision of grants, and 

technical support to counties. 

 Up to 0.33% for studies 

 $350,000 per year withholding for CRAB 

 Sums required to be repaid to counties composed of islands are provided (San Juan and 

Island counties) (RCW 46.68.080/ "Capron Act"). 

 Remainder distributed according to following formula: 10% evenly distributed, 30% by 

population, 30% based on annual road cost (maintenance costs plus 1/25 of replacement 

costs), 30% based on annual monetary needs; for construction and maintenance of county 

roads. 

 Redistribution of $16.6 million to Ferry Operations (RCW 46.68.080(5)) 

 2015-2017 estimate: $321.6 million ($305.0 million after deductions, withholding, and 

redistributions) 

 In addition to the gas tax distributions, the Connecting Washington Act will transfer 

$25.1 million in the 2017-19 biennium (and subsequent) to counties from the state Motor 

Vehicle and Multimodal Accounts (RCW 46.68.126). 

 
CITIES – REGULAR AND TRANSPORTATION 2005 LEGISLATION DISTRIBUTION  

 Distribution: 2.96 cents (2.88 cents after deductions for state supervision, studies, and 

Small City Pavement and Sidewalk Account). 

 Up to 1.5% distributed to DOT for supervision of federal grants and roadwork. 

 Up to 0.33% for studies  

 1% to Small City Pavement and Sidewalk Account to implement the City Hardship 

Assistance Program to help small cities that take over maintenance of state highways 

within their boundaries. 

 Remainder distributed by population for construction and maintenance of streets. 

 2015-2017 estimate: $197.4 million ($191.8 million after deductions) 

 In addition to the gas tax distributions, the Connecting Washington Act will transfer 

$25.1 million in the 2017-19 biennium (and subsequent) to cities from the state Motor 

Vehicle and Multimodal Accounts (RCW 46.68.126). 

 
FERRY OPERATIONS 

 Distribution: 0.54 cents 

 Revenue deposited in Puget Sound Ferry Operations Account 

 Redistribution of Capron revenues from San Juan and Island counties (RCW 46.68.080). 

 2015-2017 estimate: $35.7 million ($52.3 million after Capron redistributions from 

counties). 

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=47.56.725
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.68.080
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.68.080
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.68.126
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.68.126
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.68.080
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FERRY CAPITAL CONSTRUCTION 

 Distribution: 0.55 cents 

 Revenue deposited in Puget Sound Capital Construction Account 

 2015-2017 estimate: $36.4 million 
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REVENUE SOURCE: Natural Gas and Propane Fee (in lieu of diesel tax) 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 82.38.075 (fee) 

RCW 82.38.290 (disposition) 

WHO PAYS: Vehicles powered by natural gas or propane 

RATE: An annual license fee in lieu of the special fuel tax imposed by 

RCW 82.38.030 is imposed upon the use of natural gas and propane 

used in a motor vehicle based one the vehicle tonnage or gross 

vehicle weight (GVW) rating.  The total fee imposed is the base fee 

in the schedule below, multiplied by the motor vehicle fee tax rate 

(currently 49.4 cents per gallon), divided by twelve cents per gallon, 

plus a five-dollar handling fee. 

 

Vehicle Tonnage (GVW) Base Fee Total Fee 

0 - 6,000     $45.00   $190.25  

6,001 - 10,000   $45.00    $190.25  

10,001 - 18,000   $80.00    $334.33  

18,001 - 28,000  $110.00    $457.83  

28,001 - 36,000  $150.00    $622.50  

36,001 and above  $250.00  $1034.17  
 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

 

HISTORY:  1977 The license fee in lieu of special fuel tax enacted (special 

 fuel tax at that time was 12 cents per gallon) 

1983 Fee indexed:   base fee adjusted to reflect increases in the 

 special fuel tax above 12 cents  

2015-17 FORECAST: Minimal 

2017-19 FORECAST: Minimal 

VALUE OF INCREASE: Minimal 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.38.075
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.38.290
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=82.38.030
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REVENUE SOURCE: Rental Vehicle Sales Tax 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 82.08.020 (2) (tax and disposition) 

WHO PAYS: Consumers who rent vehicles 

RATE: 5.9% of rental contract amount, in addition to state and local sales 

taxes 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Revenue 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Multimodal Transportation Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: General Transportation 

EXEMPTIONS: Vehicles rented or loaned to customers by automotive repair 

businesses while the customers’ vehicles are under repair and 

vehicles licensed and operated as taxicabs (RCW 46.04.465). 

HISTORY: 1992 5.9% of rental contract amount, in lieu of Motor Vehicle 

 Excise Tax (MVET) 

1998 Distribution of rental vehicle sales tax (in-lieu of MVET) 

 aligned with the MVET  

2000 With repeal of MVET, distributed changed from 

 Transportation Fund to Multimodal Transportation 

 Account. 

2015-17 FORECAST: $65.2 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $69.5 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $11 million for each 1% increase in tax rate per biennium 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.08.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.04.465
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REVENUE SOURCE: Retail Sales and Use Tax on Motor Vehicles 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 82.08.020(3)  (retail sales tax for transportation and 

disposition)   

RCW 82.12.020 (use tax) 

WHO PAYS: Consumers purchasing motor vehicles 

RATE: 0.3% of selling price, in addition to state and local sales taxes 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Revenue 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Multimodal Transportation Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: General Transportation 

EXEMPTIONS: Retail car rentals 

HISTORY: 2003 0.3% of selling price 

2015-17 FORECAST: $93.4 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $100.4 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $3.1 million for each 0.01% increase in tax rate per biennium 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.08.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.12.020
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REVENUE SOURCE: Watercraft Excise Tax 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 82.49.010 (fee) 

RCW 82.49.030 (disposition) 

WHO PAYS: Owners of taxable vessels. 

RATE: One half of 1% of fair market value or $5, whichever is greater 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: General Fund 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: The watercraft excise tax revenues in each fiscal year may, subject 

to appropriation by the Legislature, be used for site acquisition, 

sewage pump out or dump units, enforcing boating safety and 

registration laws, or for education, as specified in RCW 

79A.60.590. 

EXEMPTIONS: Vessels exempt from registration under Chapter 88.02 RCW, 

vessels used exclusively for commercial fishing purposes, vessels 

under 16 feet in overall length, vessels owned by the U.S. or any 

state or municipality in the U.S., vessels owned by a nonprofit 

engaged in youth character building, and vessels own by a dealer 

which are not rented on a regular commercial basis (RCW 

82.49.020). 

HISTORY: 1984 One half of 1% of fair market value or $5, whichever is 

greater 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $27.0 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $26.4 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $5.1 million per biennium for each $1 per $1,000 of taxable value 

increase per year. 
 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.49.010
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.49.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=79A.60.590
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=79A.60.590
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=88.02
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.49.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=82.49.020


Transportation Resource Manual State Taxes and Fees  57 

 

 

 

VEHICLE FEES 
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REVENUE SOURCE: Camper Registration Fee 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.350 

RCW 46.68.030(1) (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Vehicle owner 

RATE: Original $4.90, renewal $3.50; paid annually. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1971 $3.50 per year 

1975 Original $4.90; renewal $3.50 

2015-17 FORECAST: $167,635 

2017-2019 FORECAST: $160,753 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $44,290 per $1 increase per biennium 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.350
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.030


Transportation Resource Manual State Taxes and Fees  59 

REVENUE SOURCE: Commercial Vehicle Safety Enforcement Fee 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.315 

WHO PAYS: Commercial motor vehicle carriers that have terminals in this state. 

RATE: $16 per year per vehicle; fee is apportioned for interstate vehicles 

operating under the International Registration Plan. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: State Patrol Highway Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: Vehicles regulated by the utilities and transportation commission:  

transportation for persons with special needs, auto transportation 

companies, passenger charter & excursion companies, solid waste 

collection companies and household goods carriers (RCW 

46.32.080(1)). 

Motor vehicles owned and operated by farmers in the transportation 

for their own products  (RCW 46.32.080(2)). 

HISTORY: 1995 $10 

1996 Fee for IRP vehicles added 

2007 Fee increased to $16 

2015-17 FORECAST: $5.6 million 

2017-2019 FORECAST: $6.1 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $382,000 per $1 increase per biennium 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.315
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.32.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.32.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.32.080
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REVENUE SOURCE: Electric Vehicle License Fee 
Restricted to highway purposes, in part 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.323 (fees and disposition) 

WHO PAYS: Owners of electric vehicles (EVs) and plug-in electric hybrid 

vehicles. 

RATE:  $150 per year 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: First $100 of the fee: Revenues up to $1 million, deposited in Motor 

Vehicle Account. Over $1 million:  

 Seventy percent to the Motor Vehicle Account; 

 Fifteen percent to the Transportation Improvement Account; 

 Fifteen percent to the Rural Arterial Trust account. 

 

Remaining $50 of the fee:  Revenues up to $1 million are deposited 

into the Multimodal Transportation Account.  Remaining revenues 

are deposited in the Motor Vehicle Account. 

 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Provide funds to mitigate the impact of vehicles on state roads and 

highways, of evaluating the feasibility of transitioning from a 

revenue collection system based on fuel taxes to a road user 

assessment system And to establish an Electric Vehicle 

Infrastructure Bank to provide financial assistance for installing 

publicly accessible EV charging stations. 

EXEMPTIONS: Those exempt from the electric vehicle fee include: electric vehicles 

that have the capability to drive at a speed of no more than 35 miles 

per hour; government owned vehicles; horseless carriages; collector 

vehicles; off road vehicles; snowmobiles; mopeds, restored vehicles, 

private school buses; vehicles registered to Disabled American 

Veterans, Former Prisoners of War, and Congressional Medal of 

Honor recipients.   

 

HISTORY: 
2012 $100 

2015        $150  

2015-17 FORECAST: $2.8 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $5.1 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $18,900 per $1 increase per biennium 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.323
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REVENUE SOURCE: Farm Exempt Decal Fee 
Restricted to highway purposes 

 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.16A.420 (authorized) 

RCW 46.17.325 (fee and where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Owners of farm vehicles to be operated on public highways as 

identified under RCW 46.16A.080(3). 

RATE: $5 fee in addition to any other fees and taxes required. This decal 

may not be renewed.  The status as an exempt vehicle continues 

until suspended or revoked for misuse, or when the vehicle is no 

longer used as a farm vehicle. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: As appropriated for highway-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1967 $5 
 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: Minimal 

2017-19 FORECAST: Minimal 

VALUE OF INCREASE: Minimal 
 

  

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.325
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.080
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REVENUE SOURCE: Farm Vehicle Reduced Gross Weight Fee  
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.16A.425 (reduced gross weight license fee) 

RCW 46.17.330 (fee schedule) 

RCW 46.68.030 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: A farm exempt vehicle used primarily for the purpose of agriculture: 

transporting farm products, farm implements and farm labor 

between farms, and for activities that support farming 

RATE: In lieu of all other licensing fees, unless specifically exempt, annual 

fee (varies) based on weight ($24.50 to $1,710.50) 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED:  

    Original  Renewal 

State Patrol Highway Account $23.60  $23.60 

Ferry Operations Account  $2.02  $0.93 

Motor Vehicle Account  remainder              remainder 

 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: As appropriated for highway-related purposes, State Patrol, and 

State Ferries. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY Previously, farm vehicle reduced gross weight fees were calculated 

using a formula based on the gross weight fees for trucks, buses, 

and for-hire vehicles. Chapter 161, Laws of 2010, section 423 

deleted the formula in RCW 46.16.090 and recodified the section as 

RCW 46.16A.425.  Section 527 of the same act provided a table of 

reduced gross weight fees, now codified as RCW 46.17.330. 

See the tax history for the License Fees by Weight (formerly 

Combined License Fee), page 64.  

2015-17 FORECAST: $2 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $2 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: Data is not available for estimating increases. 

 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.425
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.330
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.030


Transportation Resource Manual State Taxes and Fees  63 

REVENUE SOURCE: Farm Vehicle Trip Permit Fee  
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.16A.330 (authorized) 

RCW 46.17.400 (1)(c) (fee schedule) 

RCW 46.68.035 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: The owner of farm vehicle registered under RCW 46.16A.425 purchasing a 

monthly registration under RCW 46.16A.455(5) may operate the farm 

vehicle under the authority of a farm vehicle trip permit.   

RATE: $6.25 for a 30-day permit.  No more than four farm vehicle trip permits 

may be used for any one vehicle in any twelve month period. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 59.495% 

State Patrol Highway Account 22.360% 

Puget Sound Ferry Operations Account 1.375% 

Transportation 2003 Account 5.237% 

Transportation Partnership Account 11.533% 

                                                                      TOTAL     100.000% 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: As appropriated for highway-related purposes, including State Patrol and 

Washington State Ferries. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 2005 Farm trip permit created at $6.25  

2015-17 FORECAST: $6,180 

2017-19 FORECAST: $6,200 

VALUE OF INCREASE: Minimal 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.330
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.400
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.035
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.425
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.455
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REVENUE SOURCE: License Fee by Weight (formerly Combined Licensing 
Fee) 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.355 (fees) 

RCW 46.68.035 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Vehicle owners registering trucks with gross weight of 4,000 pounds 

or more; commercial trailers; and prorate vehicles (i.e., vehicles 

engaged in interstate commerce; see Proportional Registration 

Plates and Fees, page 79. 

RATE: In lieu of vehicle licensing fee, unless specifically exempt, annual 

fee (varies) based on weight; $53 to $3,400 per year. 

In addition to the license fee by weight, vehicles over 10,000 pounds 

must pay a freight project fee equal to 15% of the license fee by 

weight. 

Beginning on July 1, 20122, the license fee by weight increases by 

$10 for vehicles up to 12,000 pounds 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 59.495% 

State Patrol Highway Account 22.360% 

Puget Sound Ferry Operations Account 1.375% 

Transportation 2003 Account 5.237% 

Transportation Partnership Account 11.533%  

                                             TOTAL 100.000% 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: As appropriated for highway-related purposes, State Patrol, and State 

Ferries 

EXEMPTIONS: Certain on-road use of farm vehicles (RCW 46.16A.080(3)) 

Tow trucks pay a capacity fee in lieu of the license fee by weight 

(RCW 46.17.335) 

HISTORY: 
 

1987  Effective January 1, 1987, with fees ranging from $27.75 to     

$1,085.95, depending on licensed gross weight of the vehicle. 

1990  $1 increase in filing fee, $4.75 increase for State Patrol, and 

40% increase in gross weight fee; combined fee ranges from 

$37 to $1,518. 1957  Across-the-board increase of 10% for 

all fares; actual fare increases ranged from 0% to 15% due to 

rounding. 

1993  Fee schedule extended to include vehicles with gross weight 

of up to 105,500 pounds, and $90 was added for vehicles 

weighing more than 40,000 pounds that are used to tow 

trailers; combined fee ranges from $37 to $2,973. 

2002  Initiative 776 limited combined fee to $30 for vehicles under 

10,000 pounds licensed gross weight. 

2003  15% increase in gross weight fee for vehicles over 10,000 

pounds.  New revenue to go into the Transportation 2003 

(Nickel) Account. 

2005  Increased fee for vehicles under 10,000 pounds gross weight 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.355
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.035
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.335
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2006  Revised distribution percentages, adding a distribution to the 

Transportation Partnership Account. 

 

2015    Effective July 1, 2016, increased weight fees for vehicles up 

to 12,000 pounds gross weight.  Imposed the freight project 

fee at 15% of the weight fee on vehicles over 10,000 pounds. 

            Increased weight fee by $10, effective July 1, 2022. 

 

2015-17 FORECAST: $423.7 million (includes $5.6 million from trailers; $90.6 million 

from prorate vehicles). 

2017-19 FORECAST: $464.8 million (includes $6.0 million from trailers; $87.9 million 

from prorate vehicles). 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $4.6 million per 1% increase per biennium 
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REVENUE SOURCE: License Plate Fees 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.16A.200  (license plate requirements) 

RCW 46.17.200  (fees and disposition of retention fee)  

RCW 46.17.250 (combination trailer license plate fee and disposition) 

RCW 46.76.030 (vehicle transporters license plate fee) 

RCW 46.70.061 (dealer license plate fee) 

RCW 46.68.070 (where most license plate fees deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Vehicle owners, vehicle transporter, hulk haulers, wreckers, motor 

vehicle salvage processor and dealer and manufacturers. 

RATE: 
 

$10.00 per plate for original issue 

$2.00 per plate for reflectivity 

$10.00 per plate for replacement plate 

$4.00 per plate for original issue, motorcycle 

$4.00 per plate for replacement, motorcycle 

$1.50 per plate for original issue, moped 

$20.00 per vehicle retaining current license plate number 

$10.00 license plate transfer fee 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

Multimodal Transportation Account (plate number retention fee) 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes, except for plate number 

retention fees deposited into the Multimodal Transportation Account. 

EXEMPTIONS: Commercial vehicles over 26,000 pounds, horseless carriages, and 

medal of honor recipients not subject to replacement requirements. 

HISTORY: 1915 50 cents per plate 

1921 $2 for one or two plates 

1929 $1 per plate 

1947 Same as original fee for two plates; $1 for single plate. 

1951 $2 per plate; $1 per motorcycle plate; $1 for tabs or windshield 

emblem if issued instead of plates. 

1986 $3 per plate; $2 per motorcycle plate; $1 for tabs, etc. 

1997 Established the mandatory periodic plate replacement program. 

2004 $20 license plate number retention option under the mandatory 

periodic plate replacement program. 

2005 $10 per plate; $2 per motorcycle plate. 

2012 $10 per plate (original or replacement); $4 per motorcycle 

plate (original or replacement). 

2014 Requirement to periodically replace license plates removed.  

Plates must still be replaced at change of ownership. 

 

2015-17 FORECAST: Original Plates:  $30.9 million 

Plate Replacement:  $28.1 million 

Plate Number Retention $46,880 

Dealer Plates $1.3 million 

 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.250
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.76.030
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.70.061
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.070
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2017-19 FORECAST: Original Plates:  $30.5 million 

Plate Replacement:  $29.5 million 

Plate Number Retention: $59,100 

Dealer Plates: $1.3 million  

VALUE OF INCREASE: Original Plates:  $1.47 million per $1 increase per biennium 

Plate Replacement:  $1.6 million per $1 increase per biennium 

Plate Number Retention:  $2,960 per $1 increase per biennium 
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REVENUE SOURCE: License Plate Reflectivity Fee 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.200 (fee) 

RCW 46.68.070 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Vehicle owners 

RATE: $2 per plate 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1967 50 cents per plate 

2005     $2 per plate 

2015-17 FORECAST: $12.1 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $12.3 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $6.1 million per $1 increase per biennium 

 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.070
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REVENUE SOURCE: License Plate Technology Fee 
 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.015 (fee) 

RCW 46.68.370 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Vehicle owners 

RATE: $0.25 per plate 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: License Plate Technology Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Current and future license plate technology and systems integration 

upgrades for both the Department of Licensing and the correctional 

industries program. 

EXEMPTIONS: Commercial vehicles subject to weight fees (registered under RCW 

46.16A.455 or 46.17.330) are not subject to the license plate 

technology fee. 

HISTORY: 2003     $0.25 per plate 

2015-17 FORECAST: $3.3 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $3.4 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $13.4 million per $1 increase per biennium 

 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.015
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.370
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.455
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.330
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REVENUE SOURCE: License Service Fee 
Restricted to highway purposes 

 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.025 (fee) 

RCW 46.68.220 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Vehicle owners 

RATE: $0.50 per plate 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Licensing Services Account, generally 

Beginning July 1, 2017, when collected on a report of sale or 

transitional ownership transaction, this fee is directed to the Capital 

Vessel Replacement Account (see RCW 46.17.050(2)(b) and 

46.17.060(2)(b)). 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: May only be used for:  information and service delivery systems for 

the department; reimbursement of county licensing activities; and 

county auditor or subagent support including, but not limited to, the 

replacement of DOL-owned equipment in the possession of county 

auditors or subagents. 

EXEMPTIONS: Commercial vehicles subject to weight fees (registered under RCW 

46.16A.455 or 46.17.330) are not subject to the license plate 

technology fee. 

HISTORY: 2001     $0.50 per plate 

2015     Distribution changed for fees collected on report of sale and 

transitional ownership transactions. 

2015-17 FORECAST: $6.5 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $6.7 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $13.4 million per $1 increase per biennium 
 

 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.025
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.220
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.455
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.330
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REVENUE SOURCE: Log Truck Additional Weight Permit 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.44.047 (fees and where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Vehicle owner who wishes to carry additional weight (up to 6,800 

additional pounds) on vehicle licensed to maximum gross weight of 

68,000 pounds. 

RATE: $50 per year beginning April 1, prorated for shorter time periods 

$37.50 if issued after July1 

$25.00 if issued after October 1 

$12.50 if issued after January 1 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Transportation 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1953 $50 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: Included in Special Permit Fee for Oversize/Overweight 

Movements   

2017-19 FORECAST: Included in Special Permit Fee for Oversize/Overweight 

Movements 

VALUE OF INCREASE: Minimal 

 

The revenue associated with additional tonnage, special permit fees, and log tolerance permits are 

included in Special Permit Fee for Oversize/Overweight Movements, page 86. 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.44.047
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REVENUE SOURCE: Mobile Home Title Elimination Fee 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.12.700 (DOL may adopt rules to set fee) 

RCW 65.20.090 (where deposited) 

WAC 308-56A-505 (fee) 

WHO PAYS: Applicant for elimination of vehicle title when the mobile 

(manufactured) home is affixed to land owned by the applicant and 

registered under Chapter 65.20 RCW. 

RATE: $25 each application  

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1990 $25  

2015-17 ESTIMATE: Minimal 

2017-19 FORECAST: Minimal 

VALUE OF INCREASE: Minimal 
 

 
  

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.12.700
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=65.20.090
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=308-56A-505
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=65.20
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 REVENUE SOURCE: Monthly Declared Gross Weight Fee (formerly Monthly 
Combined Licensing Fee) 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.360 (fee and disposition) 

WHO PAYS: Any motor vehicle or combination of vehicles having a declared 

gross weight of 12,000 pounds or more may be paid for any full 

registration month or months. 

RATE: $2 fee for each monthly period the vehicle will be used, paid in 

addition to the monthly portion of combined licensing fee; 

additional $2 administration fee is also collected.   

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1951     $1 

1979     $2 

1985     $2 for each month of license purchase + $2 

2015-17ESTIMATE: $1.1 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $1.1 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $540,000 per $1 increase per biennium 

  
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.360
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REVENUE SOURCE: Motor Home Weight Fee 
  
RCW:   RCW 46.17.365 (fee) 

  RCW 46.68.415 (3) (disposition) 

 
 

WHO PAYS: All motor homes 
 

 

RATE: 
 
$75 annual fee  

 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Multimodal Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: The vehicle weight fee provides funds to mitigate the impact of 

vehicle loads on the state roads and highways and is separate and 

distinct from other vehicle license fees. Proceeds from the fee 

may be used for non-highway purposes. 

 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 2005    Motor home weight fee established at $75 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $10.3 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $10.4 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $139,169 per $1 increase per biennium 

  

 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.365
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.415
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REVENUE SOURCE: Off-Road Vehicle Fees 
Transfer fees restricted to highway purposes 

  

AUTHORIZED: Chapter 46.09 RCW (general provisions relating to ORVs) 

RCW 46.17.350(1)(i) (license fee) 

RCW 46.68.045 (where deposited) 

RCW 46.17.410 (transfer fee) 

RCW 46.68.020 (where deposited) 

RCW 46.17.400(1)(g) (temporary permit fee) 

RCW 46.68.045 (where deposited) 

RCW 46.09.442 (metal tags) 

RCW 46.68.045 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Off-road vehicle owners 

RATE: $18.00 license fee (initial/renewal fee) 

$5.00 ORV transfer fee 

$7.00 60-day temporary use permit 

$2.00 for a 7-year metal tag 

 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: License/temporary license/metal tags fee are deposited: 

DOL may retain up to 18% for administrative costs and the 

remaining will be distributed for off-road vehicle recreation 

facilities by the board in accordance with RCW 

46.09.520(2)(d)(ii)(A). 

Transfer fees are deposited: Nickel Account 

 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for outdoor recreation and highway-related purposes 

(Outdoor Recreation Account appropriations found in General Fund 

budget). 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1971    $5 new & renewal; $1 transfer fee; $2 nonresident permit 

1986    $5 new & renewal; $1 transfer fee; $2 temporary use permit 

2002    $5 new & renewal; $5 transfer fee; $2 temporary use permit 

2004    $18 new & renewal; $5 transfer fee; $7 temporary use 

 permit 

2015-17 FORECAST: $2.17 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $2.07 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $114,800 per $1 increase per biennium 

 

See also Wheeled All-Terrain Vehicle Fees, page 93.  

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.09
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.350
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.68.045
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.410
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.68.020
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.400
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.68.045
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.09.442
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.045
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.09.520
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.09.520
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REVENUE SOURCE: Passenger Vehicle Weight Fee 

AUTHORIZED: 
 

RCW 46.17.365 (fee) 
RCW 46.68.415 (distribution) 

 
 

WHO PAYS: Persons applying for a motor vehicle registration and paying the 

vehicle license fee required in RCW 46.17.360(1)(a), (d), (e), (h), 

(j), (n), and (o) must pay a motor vehicle weight fee in addition to 

all other fees and taxes required by law. 
 

RATE: 

 

 

The motor vehicle weight fee is based on the motor vehicle scale 

weight, as follows: 

 4,000 pounds……………………………. $25.00 

 6,000 pounds.…………………………… $45.00 

 8,000 pounds……………………………. $65.00 

               16,000 pounds & over……………………  $72.00 

 

Effective July 1, 2022, an additional $10 weight fee will be added.  
 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Freight Mobility Multimodal Account: $6 million per biennium 

Multimodal Account: Remainder  

Prior to July 1, 2023, if any state agency takes any action to 

implement a carbon fuel standard, the portion of revenue that is the 

result of the 2015 fee increase must be distributed to the Connecting 

Washington Account. 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: 
 

The motor vehicle weight fee must be used for transportation 

purposes and may not be used for the general support of state 

government.  The fee provides funds to mitigate the impact of 

vehicle loads on state roads and highways and is separate and 

distinct from other vehicle license fees (RCW 46.68.415). 

 

EXEMPTIONS: A person applying for a motor home vehicle registration must pay a 

$75 fee in lieu of the motor vehicle weight fee 

HISTORY: 2005 Vehicle weight fee established at $10, $20, and $30 for 

most vehicles 

2015        Vehicle weigh fees increased to $25, $45, and $65 for most 

vehicles (effective July 1, 2016) 

2015-17 FORECAST: $216.8 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $314.1 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: 

 

$10.7 million per $1 increase per biennium 

 

 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.365
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.415
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.68.415


Transportation Resource Manual State Taxes and Fees  77 

REVENUE SOURCE: Personalized License Plates 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.210  (fee) 

RCW 46.68.435  (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Vehicle owners with personalized license plates 

RATE: $52 set of new plates, $42 for renewal of plates.  Personalized plate 

fees are in addition to all other vehicle and license plate fees. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Wildlife Account (104)  

Wildlife Rehabilitation Account (14A) 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated to Department of Licensing to cover administrative 

costs of program and to Department of Fish and Wildlife for 

wildlife protection and enhancement. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1973 $30 new, $20 renewal 

1991 $40 new, $30 renewal 

2007 $42 new, $32 renewal 

2013        $52 new, $42 renewal 

2015-17 FORECAST: $7.9 million   

2017-19 FORECAST: $8.0 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $183,750 per $1 increase per biennium 

 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.210
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.435
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REVENUE SOURCE: Private Use Single-Axle Trailer Fee 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.16A.440 (Reduced license fee) 

RCW 46.17.350(1)(k) (fee) 

RCW 46.68.035 (disposition) 

WHO PAYS: Private-use single-axle trailers of 2,000 pounds scale weight or less 

may qualify for a reduced license fee if used on public highways 

and not for commercial purposes.   

RATE: $15 license fee (initial/renewal) 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account  59.495% 

State Patrol Highway Account  22.360% 

Puget Sound Ferry Operations Account             1.375% 

Transportation 2003 Account   5.237%   

Transportation Partnership Account   11.533% 

TOTAL          100.000% 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: As appropriated for highway-related purposes, State Patrol, and 

Washington State Ferries. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 2005 Single-axle trailer fee created at $15 

2015-17 FORECAST: $13.5 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $12.2 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $812,000 per $1 increase per biennium 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.440
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.350
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.035
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REVENUE SOURCE: Proportional Registration Plates and Fees 
Restricted to highway purposes   

AUTHORIZED: Chapter 46.87 RCW (proportional registration generally) 

RCW 46.87.140 (pro-ration of registration fees) 

RCW 46.87.090 (replacement plate fees) 

RCW 46.87.130 (vehicle transaction fee) 

RCW 46.87.050 (where deposited) 

RCW 46.68.035 (registration revenue distribution) 

WHO PAYS: Businesses engaged in interstate commerce that operate in Washington 

and are registered as part of the International Registration Plan (IRP). 

RATE:  Registration: Under IRP, the cost of registration is based on the 

percentage of total miles traveled in member states and provinces; 

the base state or province collects the entire fee and transmits 

appropriate amounts to other states; applies to the combined 

licensing fee. 

 Apportioned plates: $10 for vehicles required to display two 

apportioned plates and $5 for vehicles required to display one plate. 

 Cab card (certificate of registration showing registered gross weight 

by jurisdiction): $2 

 Validation tab: $2 

 Vehicle transaction fee: $4.50 each time a vehicle is added to a 

Washington-based fleet and each time the proportional 

registration is renewed (WAC 308-91-140). 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Plate fees and vehicle transaction fees distributed to the Motor Vehicle 

Account. 

Proportional Registration fees distributed as follows: 

Motor Vehicle Account   59.495% 

State Patrol Highway Account  22.360% 

Puget Sound Ferry Operations Account 1.375% 

Transportation 2003 Account   5.237% 

Transportation Partnership Account  11.533%  

                                             TOTAL  100.000% 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes, to the State Patrol, and to 

Washington State Ferries. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1985 $10, two apportioned plates; $5, one apportioned plate 

1987 Adds: Cab card, $2; validation tab, $2; maximum transaction 

fee set at $10 (DOL sets at $4.50). 

2015-17 FORECAST: $90.6 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $87.9 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $879,000 per 1% increase per biennium 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.87
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.87.140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.87.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.87.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.87.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.035
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=308-91-140
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REVENUE SOURCE: Recreational Vehicle Sanitary Disposal Fee 
Restricted to highway purposes 

 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.375 (fee) 

RCW 46.68.170 (deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Recreational vehicle owners, includes camper, motor home and travel 

trailer. 

RATE: $3.00 fee 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: RV Account  

 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Used by the WSDOT for the construction, maintenance, and operation 

of recreational vehicle sanitary disposal systems at safety rest areas in 

accordance with the department's highway system plan as prescribed in 

chapter 47.06 RCW.   

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1980      $1.00  

1996      $3.00 

2015–17  FORECAST: $1.4 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $1.4 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $452,000 per $1 increase per biennium 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.375
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.170


Transportation Resource Manual State Taxes and Fees  81 

REVENUE SOURCE: 

 

Service Fees on Vehicle Titles and Registration Renewals  
State-retained fee revenue restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: 
RCW 46.17.040 (fees) 

RCW 47.60.322 (deposited) 

WHO PAYS:  All vehicle owners 

 

RATE: 

 

$12 fee for title transactions  

$5 fee for initial and renewal vehicle registrations 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Fees collected by subagents retained by subagents. 

Fees collected by DOL and County Auditors deposited into the 

Capital Vessel Replacement Account (CVRA) 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: CVRA funds used for the construction or purchase of ferry vessels 

and to pay the principal and interest on bonds authorized for the 

construction or purchase of ferry vessels. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 2010 Recodification of Title and Registration statutes included 

previously established subagent fees of $4 for vehicle 

registrations and $10 for title transactions; subagents retain 

fees. 

2011 Subagent fees increased to $5 for vehicle registrations and 

$12 for title transactions 

2014 Effective January 1, 2015, fee added to transactions 

performed by DOL and County Auditors; fees collected by 

DOL and County Auditors deposited to Capital Vessel 

Replacement Account 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $33.5 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $28.2 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $5.9 million per $1 increase per biennium 

 
  

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.17.040
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=47.60.322
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REVENUE SOURCE: Special License Plates 
Restricted to highway purposes, in part 

 

AUTHORIZED: Chapter 46.18 RCW (Special License Plates) 

RCW 46.17.220 (special plate fees and where deposited) 

RCW 46.17.200 (general license plate fees:  reflectivity, 

replacement, retention, transfer) 

WHO PAYS: Persons who qualify for special license plates under the categories 

listed below; plate fees are paid one time and are in addition to 

normal registration fees, except as noted. 

RATE: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4-H.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special license plate fee, $30 

renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420.  

Amateur Radio (HAM).  RCW 46.18.205.  Applicants must have 

current FCC license.   $5 initial special license plate fee, no renewal 

fee.  Distribution:  Motor vehicle fund (RCW 46.68.070). 

Armed Forces Collection.  RCW 46.18.210.  Applicants must be 

active duty, families of veterans and service members, members of 

the National Guard, Reservists or veterans.  $40 initial special 

license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.425. 

Baseball Stadium. RCW 46.18.215. $40 initial special license plate 

fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.17.220(2). 

Breast Cancer Awareness. RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special 

license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.425. 

Collector Vehicle.  RCW 46.18.220.  Motor vehicle must be at least 

30 years old.  $35 initial license plate fee for permanent registration 

(no renewal fee).  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.030. 

Collegiate. RCW 46.18.225. $40 initial special license plate fee, 

$30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.430.Disabled 

American Veteran/Former Prisoner of War.  RCW 46.18.235.  

Applicant must meet qualifications under RCW 46.18.235.  No 

initial or renewal special license plate fees.  Exempted from all 

licensing fees and excise taxes for one vehicle 

Endangered Wildlife.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special license 

plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.425. 

Foreign Organization.  RCW 46.18.240.  Applicant must be an 

officer of the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office.  No initial or 

renewal special license plate fees. 

Gold Star.  RCW 46.18.245.  Applicant must be the spouse*, 

father, mother, or sibling of a member of the United States armed 

forces who died while in service to their country or as a result of 

their service.  No initial or renewal special license plate fees.  

*Spouses are exempt from annual vehicle registration fees for one 

personal use motor vehicle. 

 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.220
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.205
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.210
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.425
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.215
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.17.220
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.425
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.220
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.225
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.430
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.235
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.425
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.240
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.245
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Gonzaga University Alumni Association.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 

initial special license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  

RCW 46.68.420. 

Helping Kids Speak.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special license 

plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

Honorary Consul.  RCW 46.18.250.  Applicant must be a US 

citizen who is an honorary consul or official representative of any 

foreign government.  No initial or renewal special license plate fees. 

Horseless Carriage.  RCW 46.18.255.  Motor vehicle must be at 

least 40 years old.  $35 initial license plate fee for permanent 

registration (no renewal fee). Distribution:  RCW 46.68.030. 

Keep Kids Safe.  RCW 46.18.200. $45 initial special license plate 

fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.425. 

Law Enforcement Memorial.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special 

license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

Medal of Honor.  RCW 46.18.230.  Applicant must have been 

awarded the Medal of Honor.  No initial or renewal special license 

plate fees. 

Military Affiliate Radio System.  RCW 46.18.265.  Applicant 

must have valid military affiliate radio system station license.  $5 

initial special license plate fee, no renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 

46.68.070. 

Music Matters.  RCW 46.18.200.  $40 initial special license plate 

fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

Pearl Harbor Survivor.  RCW 46.18.270.  Applicant must meet 

the requirements provided in RCW 46.18.270.  No initial or renewal 

special license plate fees. 

Professional Firefighters and Paramedics.  RCW 46.18.200.  

Applicant must be a professional firefighter or paramedic and be a 

member of the Washington state council of firefighters.  $40 initial 

special license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 

46.68.420. 

Purple Heart.  RCW 46.18.280.  Applicant must have been 

awarded a purple heart medal by any branch of the United States 

armed forces.  No initial or renewal special license plate fees. 

Effective July 1, 2017 – no initial or renewal special license plate 

fees for one motor vehicle, more than one motor vehicle will be 

required to pay $40 initial special license plate fee; $30 renewal fee, 

Ride Share.  RCW 46.18.285.  Vehicle must be used for commuter 

ride sharing.  $25 initial license plate fee, no renewal fee.  

Registered owner may qualify for exemption from excise, sales and 

use taxes.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.030. 

Seattle Seahawks.  RCW 46.18.200.  $40 initial special license 

plate fee, $30 renewal fee. Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.250
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.255
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.425
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.230
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.265
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.270
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.280
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.285
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
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Seattle Sounders FC.  RCW 46.18.200.  $40 initial special license 

plate fee, $30 renewal fee. Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

Seattle University.  RCW 46.18.200.  $40 initial special license 

plate fee, $30 renewal fee. Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

Share the Road.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special license plate 

fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

Ski & Ride Washington.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special 

license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

Square Dancer.  RCW 46.18.290. $40 initial special license plate 

fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.070. 

State Flower.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special license plate fee, 

$30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420.  

Volunteer Firefighters.  RCW 46.18.200.  Applicants must meet 

the requirements of RCW 46.18.200(4).  $40 initial special license 

plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

Washington Farmers and Ranchers.  RCW 46.18.200.  $40 initial 

special license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 

46.68.420 

Washington Lighthouses.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special 

license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

Washington State Parks.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special 

license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.425. 

Washington State Wrestling. RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special 

license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

Washington State Tennis.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special 

license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420 

Washington Fish Collection.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special 

license plate fee, $30 renewal fee. Distribution:  RCW 46.68.425. 

Washington’s National Parks.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special 

license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

Washington’s Wildlife Collection.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial 

special license plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 

46.68.425. 

We Love Our Pets.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special license 

plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.420. 

Wild on Washington.  RCW 46.18.200. $40 initial special license 

plate fee, $30 renewal fee.  Distribution:  RCW 46.68.425. 

 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.290
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.425
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.425
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.425
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.420
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.18.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.425
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WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account (108) 

Special license plate fund depicted on plate 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Motor Vehicle Account appropriated for highway-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

REVENUE ESTIMATES: See DOL's Special License Plate Report: 

http://www.dol.wa.gov/about/reports-to-the-legislature.html 
  

http://www.dol.wa.gov/about/reports-to-the-legislature.html
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REVENUE SOURCE: Special Permit Fee for Oversize/Overweight Movements 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.44.0941 (fees and disposition) 

RCW 46.44.095 (temporary additional tonnage) 

WHO PAYS: Overheight, overlength, overwidth, and overweight vehicles using 

state highways; there is a separate rate schedule for oversize farm 

implements. 

RATE: Single trip – Oversize $10 

30-day permits – Oversize $10–$20 

30-day permits – Overweight $70–$90 

1-year permits – Oversize $100–$150 

1-year permits – Overweight garbage trucks $42 per 1000 lbs. 

For other overweight permits, fees range from $.07 per mile for 

loads up to 10,000 pounds over licensed gross weight or legal 

capacity to $4.25 per mile for loads 100,000 pounds or more over 

licensed gross weight or legal capacity; an additional 50 cents per 

mile is charged for each 5,000 pound increment exceeding 100,000 

pounds; the minimum fee for any overweight permit is $14; permits 

are for one-time movements. 

Oversized farm implements (e.g., threshers) 

 Farmers $10, 3 month; $ 25, 1 year 

 Sales, repair firms $25, 3 month; $100, 1 year 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Transportation 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: Federal-, state-, county-, or city-owned vehicles (RCW 46.44.0941) 

HISTORY: 1995 Overweight permit fee schedule revised and expanded 

2004 Allowed tow trucks to purchase a one-year permit to tow 

oversize/overweight vehicles. Formerly had to purchase a 

permit for each oversize/overweight tow. 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $16.4 million (includes revenue from additional weight permits) 

2017-19 FORECAST: $17.3 million (includes revenue from additional weight permits) 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $172,500 per 1% increase per biennium 

 

Note: Revenues include collections from additional tonnage, special permit fees, and log 

tolerance permits. 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.44.0941
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.44.095
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REVENUE SOURCE: Trip Permit Fee 
Restricted to highway purposes, in part 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.16A.320 (trip permit) 

RCW 46.17.400 (fee) 

RCW 46.68.455 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Vehicle owners may temporarily operate an unregistered vehicle on public 

highways with a trip permit. 

Each trip permit authorizes the operation of a single vehicle for a period of 

three consecutive days beginning with the day of first use.  No more than 

three trip permits may be used for any one vehicle in any 30 consecutive day 

period.  No more than two trip permits may be used for any one recreational 

vehicle, in a one year period. 

RATE: $25 Vehicle trip permit  

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: State Patrol Highway Account: $  5 

Motor Vehicle Account: $16 

General Fund: $  1 

Filing Fee: $  3 

(Filing fee disposition is dependent on the administrative entity collecting the 

fee, see RCW 46.68.400.) 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for commercial motor vehicle inspections, supporting vehicle 

weigh stations, weigh-in-motion programs, commercial vehicle information 

systems, network programs, congestion relief programs, general highway 

purposes, and the $1 portion of the fee is for general government purposes. 

EXEMPTIONS: A variety of trip permit fees are listed in RCW 46.17.400. 

HISTORY: 1957 $2.50 to $7.50; 3-day maximum; $2 admin fee 

1961 $.50 to $2 per 24-hour period; 10-day maximum; $2.50 admin fee 

1969 $2 to $4 per 24-hour period; 10-day maximum; $5 admin fee 

1976 $2 to $8 per 24-hour period; 10-day maximum; $5 admin fee 

1981 $10 for 3-day permit; 3 permits per 30 days; includes $8 admin fee, 

$1 filing fee, and $1 excise tax 

1996 $10 for 3-day permit:  includes $6 admin fee, $3 filing fee, and $1 

excise tax.  Limited to 3 permits per 30 days.  Restricted RVs to two 

permits per year 

1999 Added $5 surcharge to fund weigh-in-motion programs and 

congestion relief.  Total of fee and surcharge equals $15. 

2002 Fee increased to $15:  includes $11 admin fee, $3 filing fee, and $1 

excise tax.  Total of fee and surcharge equals $20.   

2010 Increased fee to $25.  No additional filing fee required.  Surcharge 

retained.  Total of fee and surcharge equals $30.   

2011  $5 surcharge eliminated (effective July 1, 2011) 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $7.5 million (includes revenue from special fuel trip permits)  

 $7.7 million (includes revenue from special fuel trip permits) 

$367,000 per $1 increase per biennium 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.320
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.400
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.455
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.400
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REVENUE SOURCE: Trip Permit, Special Fuel Users 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.400  (fee) 

RCW 82.38.100 (authority) 

RCW 46.68.460 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Special fuel users temporarily operating a motor vehicle in this state for 

commercial purposes for a period of three consecutive days. 

RATE: $30 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: State Patrol Highway Account:  $ 5        

Motor Vehicle Account:     $24   

Filing Fee (retained by counties, sub-agents):  $ 1  

 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for commercial motor vehicle inspections, supporting vehicle 

weight stations, weigh-in-motion programs, commercial vehicle information 

systems, networks program, congestion relief programs and general highway 

purposes. 

 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1971 Up to 333 miles, $5; 334 to 555, $10; 556 to 777, $15; 778 to 1000, $20; 

more than 1000, $25 (plus $1 per permit, valid for 96 hours; in lieu of 

special fuel tax for importing; limit of six permits/year). 

1973 $10 + $1/day (20 days maximum); six permits/year maximum). 

1979 $10 + $3/day (20 days maximum); six permit limit deleted. 

1983 $1 filing fee; $10 administration fee; $9 excise tax; three-day permit; 

user fills in dates. 

2000 $1 filing fee; $10 administration fee; $9 excise tax; $5 surcharge; three-

day permit; user fills in dates. 

2012 $30 Total Per-Trip Permit. 

 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $420,000 

2017-19 FORECAST: $420,000 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $20,000 per $1 fee increase per biennium 

 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.400
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=82.38.100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.460
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REVENUE SOURCE: Vehicle Certificate of Title and Inspection Fees 
Restricted to highway purposes, in part 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.100 (application fee and disposition) 

RCW 46.17.120 (stolen vehicle check fee) 

RCW 46.17.130 (VIN inspection fee) 

RCW 46.17.140 (Late title transfer penalty) 

RCW 46.17.160 (Quick Title Fee) 

RCW 46.68.020 (disposition of certificate of title application fee, 

stolen vehicle check fee and late title transfer) 

RCW 46.68.280 (disposition of certificate of title application fee) 

RCW 46.68.410 (disposition of VIN inspection fee)  

RCW 46.68.025 (disposition of Quick Title fee) 

 

WHO PAYS: Applicants for vehicle certificate of ownership (includes motor and 

non-motor vehicles except bicycles); stolen vehicle inspections 

required for vehicles previously registered in another state or 

country, vehicles rebuilt after being declared a total loss, other 

vehicles as determined by the Department of Licensing; changes to 

or reissues of title.  For an extra fee, a quick title may be printed at 

the time of application.  Quick titles are not available for all types of 

vehicles. 

RATE: Certificate of title application fee:  $15 

Stolen vehicle check: $15 if previously registered in another state or 

country;  

VIN inspection: $65 

Late title transfer penalty: $50-$125 

Quick Title fee: $50 

 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account:  

 $15 of stolen vehicle check fee,  

 $50 of VIN inspection fee,  

 All quick title fees paid to DOL and half of quick title fees 

paid to county auditors and subagents 

State Patrol Highway Account:  $15 of VIN inspection fee 

Multimodal Account:  $5 of application fee, Late Transfer penalty 

Transportation 2003 (Nickel) Account:  $10 of application fee 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Highway and other transportation purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 

 

 

 

 

1937 50 cents for certificate of ownership 

1951 $1 for certificated of ownership 

1967 Late title transfer penalty established from $5 to $15 

1974 $1 certificate of ownership; $10 inspection fee; $5 VIN 

reassignment fee 

1984 $25 to $100, late title transfer penalty 

1989 $1 certificate of ownership; $15 inspection fee if previously 

registered elsewhere; $20 inspection fee if not. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.130
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.160
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.020
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.68.280
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.410
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.025
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1990 $1.25 certificate of ownership; $15 inspection fee if 

previously registered elsewhere; $20 inspection fee if not 

2002 $5.00 certificate of ownership; $15 inspection fee if 

previously registered elsewhere; $50 inspection fee if not; 

raised fee for changes to certificate to $5.00. 

2003 Changed distributions of fees from Motor Vehicle Account 

to Multimodal Account, Transportation 2003 Account, Air 

Pollution Control Account, and Vessel Response Account.  

After 2008, fees going to Air Pollution Control and Vessel. 

2007 VIN inspection fee raised to $65, $15 distributed to SPHA, 

remainder to MVA. 

2008 Effective July 2008, title fees formerly distributed to the Air 

Pollution Control and Vessel Response Accounts are 

distributed to the Transportation 2003 Account. 

2011 Quick Title fee established at $50 

2012 $15.00 certificate of ownership fee 

 $50 to $125 late title transfer penalty 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: Certificates of Ownership:  $69.9 million (includes late title transfer 

penalties) 

Inspections:  $14.7 million 

Quick Titles:  $4.0 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: Certificates of Ownership:  $70.4 million (includes late title transfer 

penalties) 

Inspections:  $13.9 million 

Quick Titles:  $4.1 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: Certificates of Ownership:  $4.66 million per $1 increase per 

biennium 

Inspections: $0.8 million per $1 fee increase per biennium  

Quick Titles:  $0.08 million per $1 increase per biennium 
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REVENUE SOURCE: Vehicle Registration Fee ($30 License Fee) 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.350 (fee) 

RCW 46.68.030 (disposition) 

WHO PAYS: The $30 license fee must be paid by owners of auto stages (six seats 

or less), for hire vehicle (six seats or less), mobile home (if 

registered), moped, motor home, motorcycle, passenger car, sport 

utility vehicle, tow truck, trailer (over 2000 pounds) and travel 

trailer.  

RATE: Original registration $30; renewal registration $30. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Effective until July 1, 2017 Original Renewal 

State Patrol Highway Account $20.35 $20.35 

Ferry Operations Account 2.02 0.93 

Motor Vehicle Account 7.63 8.72 

Effective July 1, 2017  

State Patrol Highway Account $23.60 $23.60 

Ferry Operations Account 2.02 0.93 

Motor Vehicle Account     4.38     5.47 

                                                TOTAL $30.00 $30.00 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for State Patrol, ferry operations, and highway-related 

activities. 

EXEMPTIONS: Vehicles with incidental or no operation on public highways as 

listed in RCW 46.16A.080. 

Vehicles owned by public agencies, governments of foreign 

countries, school buses owned by private schools (RCW 

46.16A.170) 

Vehicles owned by Indian tribes (RCW 46.16A.175) 

HISTORY: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Original & Renewal  

1909 $3.00  

1917 $5.00  

1919 $10.00 

1932 $3.00 

1949 $5.00 

1949 $6.50  

1961 $6.90 

1965 $8.00  

1969 $9.40  

1977 $13.40 $  9.40 

1981 $23.00 $19.00 

1987 $27.75 $23.75 

2000 $30.00 $30.00 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.350
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.030
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.080
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.170
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.170
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.175
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2002 Changed distribution of Original fee 

2005 Private use single-axle trailers removed from basic fee 

2016 Distribution changed to increase amount for the State 

Patrol 

 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $332.4 million  

2017-19 FORECAST: $341.9 million  

VALUE OF INCREASE: $11.4 million per $1 increase per biennium 
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REVENUE SOURCE: Wheeled All-Terrain Vehicle Fees 
Restricted to highway purposes, in part 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.350 (registration fee) 

RCW 46.09.442 (metal tag) 

RCW 46.09.540 (disposition of on-road use vehicle fee) 

RCW 46.09.510 (disposition of off-road use vehicle fee) 

WHO PAYS: Off-road vehicle owners 

RATE: 
 

On-road Use: 

$12 – initial and renewal fee 

$2 metal tag – replaced every 7 years 

 

Off-road Use: 

$18 – initial and renewal fee 

$2 metal tag – replaced every 7 years 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: On-road use:  Multiuse Roadway Safety Account  

Off-road use:  Non-highway and Off-road Vehicle Account 

(NOVA) 

 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Funds from the Multiuse Roadway Safety Account must be spent on 

highway purposes: (1) safety engineering analysis; (2) signs to alert 

the motoring public that wheeled all-terrain vehicles may be present 

or crossing; or (3) law enforcement for purposes of defraying costs 

of enforcement involving wheeled all-terrain vehicles.  NOVA 

funds must be used to benefit off-road vehicle recreation on publicly 

owned lands and are not limited to highway purposes. 

 

EXEMPTIONS: WATVs owned by a resident of another state and registered in that 

state for on-road use may forego WA registration if the other state 

also has a similar exemption and the other state’s vehicle equipment 

requirements meet or exceed Washington’s  

HISTORY: 2013  Initial and renewal registration for on-road use is $12; for 

off-road use is $18. 

2016 Added reciprocity exemption for WATVs registered in 

another state for on-road use 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: On-road Use  $119,600 

Off-road Use   $914,900 

2017-19 FORECAST: On-road Use $125,700 

Off-road Use   $1.08 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: On-road Use  $10,800 per $1 increase per biennium 

Off-road Use   $60,000 per $1 increase per biennium 
 

See also Off-Road Vehicle Fees, page 75. 

  

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.17.350
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.09.442
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.09.540
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.09.510
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DRIVERS FEES  
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REVENUE SOURCE: Commercial Driver License 

AUTHORIZED: 
 

RCW 46.20.049 (CDL license fee and where deposited) 

RCW 46.25.052 (instruction permit and where deposited) 

RCW 46.25.060 (examinations and where deposited) 

RCW 46.25.100 (requalification and where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Drivers endorsed to operate specialized vehicles (e.g., large trucks, 

buses) 

RATE: $102 every six years or $17 per in addition to $54 for basic driver 

license 

$10 CDL special endorsement to the WA driver license 

$40 Commercial license permit (CLP) 

$35 CDL knowledge test 

$250 CDL skills test        

$35 CDL re-qualification fee 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Highway Safety Fund 

 

Prior to July 1, 2023, if any state agency takes action to implement a 

carbon fuel standard, revenues from 2015 fee increases on instruction 

permits, examinations, and requalification must be deposited into the 

Connecting Washington Account. 

DISTRIBUTION & 

USE: 

Appropriated for administration of commercial driver license (CDL) 

program. 

EXEMPTIONS: Not-for-profit corporations that are federally supported head start 

programs or early childhood education and assistance programs 

described in RCW 43.215.405(2) pays $225 for a skill examination. 

Applicants primary use of a CDL is to drive a school bus - $100 for 

skill examination 

Applicants who operates a commercial motor vehicle for agribusiness 

purposes are exempt from the examination 

HISTORY: 

 

1967 Original endorsement not to exceed $10; renewal not to exceed 

$8 

1969 Original not to exceed $10; renewal fee eliminated 

1985 Original not to exceed $10; renewal not to exceed $3 

1989 Original, renewal not to exceed $12; $5 instruction permit 

  Knowledge exam not to exceed $10; skills exam not to exceed 

$50; $20 requalification fee  

2000 Original, renewal not to exceed $25 

2002 Instruction permit increased from $5 to $10; requalification fee 

increased to $150 for disqualified for failed alcohol or drug test 

2005 (July) Original, renewal increased from not to exceed $25 to a 

set fee of $30 

2008 Skills exam fee increased from $50 to $100 (regular) and 

created a reduced fee of $75 for head start, early childhood 

education 

2011 Original, renewal increased from $30 to $61 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.049
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.25.052
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.25.060
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.25.100
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2012 (October) Original, renewal increased from $61 to $85 

2013  (June) Original, renewal proportionately increased from $85 to 

$102 – term went from 5-year to 6-year 

2015  Instruction permit increased to $40 (July 2016); CDL 

knowledge examination fee increased to $35 (July 2016); CDL 

skills examination fee increased to $250 (July 2016); 

Requalification fee increased to $35 

2016     Skills exam fee increased from $100 to $250; skills exam for 

head start, early childhood education from $75 to $225 and 

created a new fee for school bus exam at $100.   

Requalification fee increased from $20 to $35 

CDL learner’s permit fee increased from $10 to $40 

Knowledge exam fee increased from $10 to $35 

2015-17 FORECAST: $11.5 million 

2017-19 FORECAST $12.6 million 

VALUE OF 

INCREASE: 

 

$87,900 per $1 increase per biennium 
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REVENUE SOURCE: Driver’s Abstract 
Restricted to highway purposes, in part 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.52.130   

WHO PAYS: Drivers, employers or prospective employers, volunteer 

organizations, transit authorities, insurance carriers, alcohol/drug 

assessment or treatment agencies, attorneys – city attorneys, county 

prosecuting attorneys, and individual’s attorney of record; state 

colleges, universities, or agencies, or units of local government, and 

Superintendent of Public Instruction 

RATE: $13 per copy of any Department of Licensing record (records for 

confidential use only are not available). 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: $6.50 to Highway Safety Fund 

$6.50 to State Patrol Highway Account  

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated to cover driver and highway related purposes.   

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1961 $1.00 per abstract 

1963 $1.50 

1985 $3.50 

1987 $4.50 

2002 $5.00 

2007 $10.00 

2012 $13.00 

2015-17 FORECAST: $57 million 

2017-2019 FORECAST: $54.8 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $4.2 million per $1 increase per biennium 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.52.130
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REVENUE SOURCE: Driver Instruction Permit 
 

AUTHORIZED: 

 

RCW 46.20.055  

RCW 46.68.041 (where deposited) 

 

WHO PAYS: Individuals learning to drive (must be fifteen and a half years of age 

or older). 

 

RATE: $25 for photo or non-photo permit (good for one year). 

 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Highway Safety Fund 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for driver-related programs. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1965 $1.50 

1979 $2.50 

1985 $5.00 

2002 $15.00 

2006 $20.00 

2012 $25.00 

2015-17 FORECAST: $6.4 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $6.3 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $256,300 per $1 increase per biennium 

 
 

See also Motorcycle Endorsement Fee/Instruction Permit, page 107. 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.055
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.041
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REVENUE SOURCE: Driver License Examination Fee 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.20.120 

RCW 46.68.041 (where deposited)   

WHO PAYS: Any individual applying for a new driver license (including 

individuals who already have a license from another state and those 

whose previous Washington license has been expired for over five 

years). 

RATE: $35 examination fee paid to DOL plus additional fees when testing 

is given by commercial driving school. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Highway Safety Fund 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for driver-related programs. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1953 $2 exam fee 

1975 $3 

1985 $7 

2002 $10 

2005 $20 exam fee 

2012 $35 

2015-17 FORECAST: $21.5 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $20.6 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $ 600,000 per $1 increase per biennium 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.120
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.041
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REVENUE SOURCE: Driver License Fee 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.20.161 (original)  

RCW 46.20.181 (renewal) 

RCW 46.68.041 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Drivers 

RATE: $54 for 6-year license  ($9 for each year that the license is issued) 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED Highway Safety Fund 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for general government and driver-related purposes. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 

 

1965 Original/renewal set at $4 for a 2-year license ($2.20 

deposited in General Fund for parkways, $1.80 deposited in 

Highway Safety Fund, of which $0.60 for WSP) 

1967 Optional photo on a driver license, additional $1 fee  

1969 Increased to $5 ($3.10 deposited in Highway Safety Fund, 

$1.90 deposited in State Patrol Highway Account, $0 to 

General Fund) 

1971   $1.90 diverted from State Patrol Highway Account to 

General Fund   

1975 Increased fee to $6  

1977 Previous $1 increase dedicated to Highway Safety Fund 

1981 Increased fee to $14 for 4-year license, includes required 

photo; $3.80 of fee to General Fund 

1995   Entire driver license fee to Highway Safety Account! 

1999   $25 for 5-year license; gradually implemented through 2005 

2012   $45 for a 5-year license until June 30, 2013  

2013   $54 for 6-year license, effective July 1, 2013 

2015-17 FORECAST: $123.0 million  

2017-19 FORECAST: $113.2 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $2.3 million per $1 increase per biennium  

 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.161
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.181
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.041
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REVENUE SOURCE: Driver License Photo-Only Fee 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.20.200(2) 

RCW 46.68.041 (where deposited)   

WHO PAYS: Individuals who wish to correct information on a driver’s license or 

identicard. 

RATE: $10 per license/identification card/permit 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Highway Safety Fund 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for driver-related programs 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1985 $2.00 

2002 $10.00 

2015-17 FORECAST: $3.0 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $3.0 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $303,130 per $1  increase per biennium 
 

 

 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.041
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REVENUE SOURCE: Driver License Reinstatement and Hearing Fees 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.20.311 (reinstatement/reissue fee) 

RCW 46.68.041 (where deposited) 

RCW 46.20.308(7) (implied consent hearing fees) 

WHO PAYS: Drivers who have had their licenses suspended; drivers may not 

receive a new license following suspension or revocation until the 

reinstatement fee has been paid.  A person receiving notice of 

suspension may request a hearing. 

RATE: $75 reinstatement fee (non-alcohol-related offense) 

$150 reinstatement fee (alcohol-related offense) 

$375 hearing fee 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Highway Safety Fund  

Impaired Driver Safety Account – 63% of alcohol-related 

reinstatement fee  

DISTRIBUTION & USE: As appropriated for driver-related programs. 

EXEMPTIONS: Hearing fee may be waived for indigent persons. 

HISTORY: 1965 $4 reinstatement fee (same as regular license fee)  

1973 $10 reinstatement fee in addition to regular fee 

1982 $20 reinstatement fee 

1983 $20 reinstatement fee ($50 for alcohol or drug-related 

 offense)  

1994 $100 hearing fee established 

1998 $150 reinstatement fee for alcohol or drug-related offense 

2005 $75 reinstatement fee for non-alcohol-related offense 

 $200 hearing fee 

2012 $375 hearing fee 

2015-17 FORECAST: Reinstatement fees:  $12.5 million 

Hearing fees:  $4.2 million 

2017-19 FORECAST Reinstatement fees: $13.7 million 

Hearing fees:  $4.1 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $148,140 per $1 increase per biennium, for reinstatement fee 

$10,870 per $1 increase per biennium, for hearing fee 

 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.311
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.041
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.308
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REVENUE SOURCE: Duplicate Driver License Fee 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.20.200 

RCW 46.68.041 (where deposited)   

WHO PAYS: Individuals who wish to replace lost or destroyed permits, 

identification cards, or driver licenses. 

RATE: $20 per license/identification card/permit 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Highway Safety Fund 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for driver-related programs 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1921 50 cents 

1975 $2.50 

1985 $5.00 

2002 $15.00 

2012 $20.00 

2015-17 FORECAST: $12.1 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $12.0 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $601,450 per $1 increase per biennium 
 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.200
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.041
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REVENUE SOURCE: Enhanced Driver License/Identification Card Fee 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.20.202 (fee) 

RCW 46.68.041 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: All applicants who provides the department with proof of US 

citizenship, identity, and state residency. 

RATE: $54 for 6-year license, original or renewal with driver license or 

identification card.  $9 per year if extended for period other than 6 

years. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Highway Safety Fund 

 

Prior to July 1, 2023, if any state agency takes action to implement a 

carbon fuel standard, revenues from 2015 fee increases on enhanced 

driver licenses must be deposited into the Connecting Washington 

Account. 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for general government and driver-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 2007 $15 additional fee original or renewal with driver license 

or identification card 

2013         $18 additional fee original or renewal with driver license 

or identification card 

2015        $54 additional fee original or renewal with driver license 

or identification card (effective July 1, 2016) 
 

2015-17 FORECAST: $10.5 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $17.2 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $317,000 per $1 increase per biennium 

 
   

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.202
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.041
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REVENUE SOURCE: Identicards  

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.20.117 

RCW 46.68.041 (where deposited)   

WHO PAYS: Persons who do not hold a driver license and are applying for an 

identification card. 

RATE: $54 for 6-year identicard, $9 per year if extended for period other 

than 6 years 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Highway Safety Fund 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for driver-related programs 

EXEMPTIONS: Public assistance recipients are eligible for a reduced fee. 

HISTORY: 1969 $3, valid for 5 years   

1971 Established reduced fee for public assistance recipients 

1985 $4 

2002 $15 

2005 $20 

2012 $45 

2013 $54, valid for 6 years 

 

2015-17 FORECAST: $16.5 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $14.8 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $357,640 per $1 increase per biennium 
 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.117
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.041
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REVENUE SOURCE: Motorcycle Endorsement Fee/Instruction Permit 
 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.20.505 (exam and endorsement fee and disposition)  

RCW 46.20.510 (instruction permit fee and disposition)   

WHO PAYS: Motorcycle drivers; applicant must be at least 16 years old and have 

a driver license. 

RATE: $12 initial 6-year endorsement ($2/year) 

$30 renewal endorsement, every 6 years ($5/year) 

$5 exam fee 

$15 instruction permit (initial/renewal) for 90 days 

Motorcycle drivers must have their driver license specially 

endorsed, which requires passage of the motorcycle exam. 

Instruction permits are good for 90 days and may be renewed for a 

second 90-day period. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motorcycle Safety Education Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for motorcycle safety education. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1967 $4 initial exam, $2 renewal exam 

1987 $6 initial exam, $4 renewal exam 

1988 $7 initial or new category, $5 renewal exam 

1989 $2 exam fee, $6 initial or new category endorsement, $7.50 

renewal endorsement, $2.50 instruction permit 

1993 $2 exam fee, $6 initial or new category endorsement, $14 

renewal endorsement, $2.50 instruction permit 

1999 $2 exam fee, $10 initial or new category endorsement, $25 

renewal endorsement, $2.50 instruction permit 

2002 $5 exam fee, $15 renewal endorsement 

2012 $5 exam fee, $2 per year for initial or new category 

endorsement, $5 per year for renewal endorsement 

 

2015-17 FORECAST: $4.94 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $4.98 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $261,250 per $1 increase per biennium 

 

 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.505
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.510
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REVENUE SOURCE: Temporary Restricted Driver License and Device Fees—
Ignition Interlock and Occupational 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.20.380 (license fee and distribution) 

RCW 46.20.385(6) (ignition interlock device fee) 

RCW 46.68.340 (device fee, where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Any person licensed under RCW 46.20.385 who is convicted of 

Driving Under the Influence, vehicular homicide, or vehicular 

assault, or who has had or will have his or her license suspended, 

revoked, or denied under implied consent laws may submit an 

application for a temporary restricted, occupational, or ignition 

interlock license. 

RATE: $100 occupational, a temporary restricted or ignition interlock 

driver’s license fee 

$20 per month per ignition interlock device  

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Highway Safety Fund (driver license fees) 

Ignition Interlock Device Revolving Account (device fees) 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: The Ignition Interlock account may be used only to administer and 

operate the ignition interlock device revolving account program, 

which pays device costs for indigent persons. 

Highway Safety Fund revenues may be used for driver related 

purposes. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 
 

1961 $10 Occupational Driver License fee recodified 

1985 $25 Occupational Driver License fee 

2004 $100 Temporary Restricted and Occupational Driver 

license fee 

2008 Ignition interlock license set at $100; device fee set at $20 

 

2015-17 FORECAST: Temporary Restricted Licenses:  $1.9 million 

Ignition Interlock Device Fees:  $7.1 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: Temporary Restricted Licenses:  $2.0 million 

Ignition Interlock Device Fees:  $6.5 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: Temporary Restricted Licenses:  $19,710 per $1 increase per 

biennium 

Ignition Interlock Device Fees: $326,640 per $1 increase per 

biennium 

See also Driver License Reinstatement and Hearing Fees on page 103. 

 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.380
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.385
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.340
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.20.385
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FARES and TOLLS  
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REVENUE SOURCE: Ferry Fares 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 47.56.030 (authority to set and collect fares) 

RCW 47.60.315 (where deposited, vessel replacement surcharge) 

WHO PAYS: Vehicles and passengers using ferries 

RATE: Ferry System fare calculator on WSDOT website.  Fares are set by 

Transportation Commission; may be revised during the biennium if 

total revenue from fares and other revenue deposited in the Puget 

Sound Ferry Operations Account are less than projected total cost of 

maintenance and operations for the biennium.  

25 cent vessel replacement surcharge on each fare  

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Transportation – Washington State Ferries 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Puget Sound Ferry Operations Account 

Capital Vessel Replacement Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for ferry system operations. 

EXEMPTIONS: Frequent users have the option of purchasing reduced fares; children 

under six years of age are free (determined by Transportation 

Commission). 

HISTORY: 
 

1951  State took over system. 

1952  Reduction in cross-Sound fares to better match shorter routes 

on a cost-per-mile basis. 

1955  Across-the-board increase of 5 cents for passenger and 10 

cents for auto fares. 

1957  Across-the-board increase of 10% for all fares; actual fare 

increases ranged from 0% to 15% due to rounding. 

1959  Passenger fares increased 10 to 20 cents, and auto fares 

increased by 10 cents. 

1964  Across-the-board fare increase of 5 cents for both passengers 

and autos, except for Bremerton, Clinton, and Sidney routes. 

1968  Across the board increase of 5 cents for passengers and 10 

cents for autos, except Anacortes/San Juans. 

1969  Fare increases ranged from 5 to 15 cents for passengers, and 

15 to 20 cents for autos. 

1972  Raised Anacortes-Sidney fares only. 

1975  Fare increases ranged from 0 to 20 cents for passengers, and 

10 cents to $1.05 for autos in attempt to establish uniform 

multiple of 3.4 for auto fares vs. passenger fares. 

1977  Raised Anacortes-Sidney fares only. 

1979  Across-the-board fare increase of 13%; 20% summer 

surcharge instituted for autos; actual increase ranged from 

0% to 15%. 

1980  Across-the-board fare increase of 25%; actual increases 

ranged from 20% to 27%. 

 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.56.030
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.60.315
http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/ferries/fares/
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1981  Across-the-board fare increase of 13%; actual increases 

ranged from 11% to 14% 

1982  Across-the-board fare increase of 6.6%; actual increases 

ranged from 5.4% to 7.4%. 

1984  Across-the-board fare increase of 4.7%; actual increases 

ranged from 9.5% to 20%. 

1987  Across-the-board fare increase of 3.0%. 

1992  Merger of commercial and recreational vehicles into a single 

oversized rate; first phase of oversized fare modifications. 

1993  Phase II of oversized vehicle fare modifications. 

1994   (May) Across-the-board nominal fare increase of 6.04%; 

Sidney fare raised 7.18%. 

1994   (October) Phase III of oversized vehicle fare modifications; 

Sidney fare raised an additional 6.46%. 

1996  Final phase of oversized vehicle fare modifications. 

1998  General fare increase of 2.28% plus rounding up to the 

nearest $0.10 for passengers and $0.25 for vehicles, and 

adjustments to the passenger coupon discount. 

1999  General inflationary fare increase of 2.2% plus rounding up 

to the nearest $0.10 for passengers and $0.25 for vehicles, 

and a reduction of the frequent-use passenger ticket book 

savings from 35% to 30%. 

2001  General fare increase of 20% plus rounding up to the nearest 

$0.10 for passengers and $0.25 for vehicles. 

2002  General fare increase of 12.5% plus rounding up to the 

nearest $0.10 for passengers and $0.25 for vehicles. 

2003  General fare increase of 5% plus rounding up to the nearest 

$0.10 for passengers and $0.25 for vehicles.  

2004  General fare increase of 5% plus rounding up to the nearest 

$0.10 for passengers and $0.25 for vehicles. 

2005  General fare increase of 6% plus rounding up to the nearest 

$0.05.  

2006  General fare increase of 6% plus rounding up to the nearest 

$0.05 

2007  General Fare increase of 2.5% plus rounding up to the 

nearest $0.05 beginning May 1, 2007. 

2009  General fare increase of 2.5% plus rounding up to the nearest 

$0.05 beginning October 11, 2009. 

2011  General fare increase of 2.5% plus rounding up to the nearest 

$0.05 beginning January 1, 2011. 

2011  $0.25 capital program surcharge on ferry fares implemented 

by Transportation Commission August 2011.  

2011  General fare increase of 2.5% plus rounding up to the nearest 

$0.05 beginning October 1, 2011. 

2012  General fare increase of 3.0% plus rounding up to the nearest 

$0.05 beginning May 1, 2012. 

2013    General fare increase of 2% for passengers and 3% for 

vehicles beginning October 1, 2013, with higher increases 

for the Anacortes-Sidney run. 

2014    General fare increase of 2% for passengers and 2.5% 

increase for vehicles beginning May 1, 2014, with higher 

increases for the Anacortes-Sidney run. 
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2015    General fare increase of 1% for passengers and 2.5% for 

vehicles beginning October 1, 2015. 

2016    General fare increase of 1% for passengers and 2.5% for 

vehicles beginning May 1, 2016. 

 

2015-17 FORECAST: $376.2 million total ferry farebox revenue (includes $8.0 million 

revenue from the 25 cent vessel replacement surcharge).  Assumes 

no future fare increases after FY 2016.  

2017-19 FORECAST: $388.6 million total ferry farebox revenue (includes $8.2 million 

revenue from the 25 cent vessel replacement surcharge).  Assumes 

no future fare increases after FY 2016. 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $3.76 million per 1% increase in all farebox revenue per biennium 
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REVENUE SOURCE: Tolling – SR 167 High Occupancy Toll (HOT) Lanes 

AUTHORIZED: 
 

RCW 47.56.403 (tolls authorized) 

RCW 47.66.090 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Users of the SR 167 HOT Lanes.  Carpools with two or more 

passengers can travel for free without a pass in the SR 167 HOT 

lanes.  If a vehicle has a pass, it must be turned off or set to HOV 

mode to ensure that no toll is charged.  Sticker passes are charged 

regardless of the number of passengers in the vehicle. 

RATE: Effective April 2008:  minimum toll rate = .50 cents; maximum toll 

rate = $9.00.   

Toll rates vary dynamically based upon time of day, traffic volumes, 

traffic demand, and overall corridor performance.   

Toll rates will vary to insure average HOT lane speeds of 45 mph at 

least 90% of the time during peak hours. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Toll rates and policies set by the State Transportation Commission. 

Department of Transportation collects and administers. 

WHERE DEPOSITED: High-Occupancy Toll Lanes Operations Account  

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Moneys in this account may be used for, but be not limited to, debt 

service, planning, administration, construction, maintenance, 

operation, repair, rebuilding, enforcement, and expansion of high 

occupancy toll lanes and to increase transit, vanpool and carpool, 

and trip reduction services in the corridor. A reasonable proportion 

of the moneys in this account must be dedicated to increase transit, 

vanpool, carpool, and trip reduction services in the corridor. 

EXEMPTIONS: HOV vehicles, transit buses, and publicly owned and/or operated 

vanpool vehicles.  See WAC 468-270-075. 

HISTORY: 2005 Tolls authorized by Chapter 312 Laws of 2005 

2008 Tolls set:  min toll = .50 cents; max toll = $9.00 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $3.61 million in total toll and fee revenues 

2017-19 FORECAST: If the pilot program were extended, $4.58 million in total toll and 

fee revenues.  (SR167 HOT lanes tolling will sunset on June 30, 

2017; additional legislation is needed to extend this revenue source.)   

VALUE OF INCREASE: Not available 

 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.56.403
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.66.090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=468-270-075
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REVENUE SOURCE: Tolling – I-405 Express Toll Lanes 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: 
 

RCW 47.56.880 (tolls authorized) 

RCW 47.56.884 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Users of the I-405 Express Toll Lanes between Bellevue and 

Lynnwood.  Carpools with three or more passengers may use the 

Express Lanes for free.  The Express Toll Lanes are free and open to 

all vehicles week nights from 7pm to 5am and on weekends. 

RATE: Toll rates vary by time of day, level of traffic congestion and other 

criteria as the Commission deems appropriate.   

Minimum toll rate = 75 cents; maximum toll rate = $10.00.   

View current rates on the WSDOT website. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Toll rates and policies set by the State Transportation Commission. 

Department of Transportation collects and administers. 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Interstate 405 Express Toll Lanes Operations Account  

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Moneys in this account may be used for debt service, planning, 

administration, construction, maintenance, operation, repair, 

rebuilding, enforcement, and expansion of the express toll lanes on 

Interstate 405. 

EXEMPTIONS: Transit buses, vanpools, motorcycles, Washington State Patrol 

vehicles providing service to the express toll lane facility; WSDOT 

maintenance and incident response vehicles, emergency vehicles, 

and tow trucks clearing blocking vehicles (WAC 468-270-110). 

HISTORY: 2011 Tolling authorized by Chapter 369 Laws of 2011 

2015 Tolling began on September 27, 2015: min toll = 75 cents, 

max toll = $10.00 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $41.5 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: 

VALUE OF INCREASE:      

$56.6 million 

$1 increase in maximum toll rate would generate $0.35 million in 

additional I-405 gross toll revenue in FY 2017 – assuming no trips 

are lost from the maximum toll rate increase 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.56.880
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.56.884
http://www.wsdot.com/traffic/seattle/flowmaps/i-405toll.aspx
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=468-270-110
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REVENUE SOURCE: Tolling – SR 520 Bridge 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 47.56.870 (tolls authorized) 

RCW 47.56.875 (where deposited) 

RCW 47.56.820 (uses)  

WHO PAYS: Users of the SR 520 Bridge 

RATE: Toll rate schedule effective July 1, 2016:  

http://www.wstc.wa.gov/HighwayTolling/SR520Bridge.htm  

Toll rates vary according to time of day, type of customer and type of 

vehicle.  Two axle tolls range from $0 to $6.10, with the highest tolls 

charged during peak hours to drivers who pay by mail.  Customers 

without a Good to Go pass pay various fees to reflect the additional 

cost of toll collection. Trucks pay higher tolls based on the number of 

axles.  

ADMINISTERED BY: Toll rates and policies set by the State Transportation Commission.  

Department of Transportation collects and administers. 

WHERE DEPOSITED: State Route No. 520 Corridor Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Subject to bond covenants:  financing, operations, maintenance, 

management, repairs, and repayments to the motor vehicle fund.   The 

account may also be used for enforcement, operations of transit, and 

to meet other obligations on the toll facility. 

EXEMPTIONS: WSP vehicles providing service to the SR 520 corridor; DOT 

maintenance, construction, and incident response vehicles assigned to 

the bridge; publicly owned or operated transit buses; privately owned 

passenger buses meeting certain criteria; motor vehicles used for 

ridesharing/vanpools. See WAC 468-270-091 and 468-270-095. 

HISTORY: 

 

 

 

2009 Tolling authorized by Chapter 472, Laws of 2009   

2011 Toll collection begins December 29th, 2011 

2012 Tolls increased by 2.5% on July 1, 2012 

2013  Tolls increased by 2.5% on July 1, 2013 

2014  Tolls increased by 2.5% on July 1, 2014 

2015  Tolls increased by 2.5% on July 1, 2015 

2016  Tolls increased by 2.5% on July 1, 2016 

2017  Tolls will increase by 5% on July 1, 2017 

2018  Tolls will increase by 5% plus night time tolling on July 1, 

2018 

 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $152 million adjusted gross pledged SR 520 Bridge toll & fee revenue 

($159 million with civil penalties and miscellaneous revenue) 

2017-19 FORECAST: $169 million adjusted gross pledged SR 520 Bridge toll & fee revenue 

($177 million with civil penalties and miscellaneous revenue)  

VALUE OF INCREASE: 5% toll rate increase raised gross revenue potential by $2.2 million in 

FY 2017. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.56.870
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.56.875
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.56.820
http://www.wstc.wa.gov/HighwayTolling/SR520Bridge.htm
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=468-270-091
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=468-270-095
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REVENUE SOURCE: Tolling – Tacoma Narrows Bridge 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 47.46.100 (tolls authorized) 

RCW 47.56.165 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Users of the Tacoma Narrows Bridge traveling eastbound into 

Tacoma 

RATE: As of July 1, 2015 (two axle tolls):  cash toll = $6.00; Good to 

Go (G2G) = $5.00 and Pay-By-Mail (PBM) = $7.00. Toll 

amounts increase for vehicles based on the number of axles.  

Toll rate schedule effective July 1, 2015, can be found on the 

Transportation’s Commission’s website and at WAC 468-270-

070.   

ADMINISTERED BY: Toll rates and policies set by the State Transportation 

Commission.  Department of Transportation collects and 

administers.  

WHERE DEPOSITED: Tacoma Narrows Toll Bridge Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: The Department of Transportation must pay costs related to 

financing, operations, maintenance, management, necessary 

repairs of the facility; and repay amounts to the motor vehicle 

fund, as required under RCW 47.46.140. 

EXEMPTIONS: Vehicles providing service directly to the bridge:  WSP vehicles 

providing service to the SR 16 corridor; DOT maintenance 

vehicles assigned to the bridge; and authorized emergency 

vehicles.  See WAC 468-270-090 and 468-270-095. 

HISTORY: 
 

7/15/2007 Tolls begin:  $3.00 = cash toll; $1.75 = G2G  

7/1/2008 $4.00 = cash toll; $2.75 = G2G 

7/1/2012 $5.00=cash toll; $4.00= G2G;  

 PBM=$6.00 per two axles vehicle 

7/1/2013 $5.25 = cash toll; $4.25 = G2G; 

 PBM = $6.25 per two axles vehicle 

7/1/2014 $5.50 = cash toll; $4.50 = G2G; 

 PBM = $6.50 per two axles vehicle   

7/1/2015               $6.00 = cash toll; $5.00 = G2G; PBM = $7.00 

per two axle vehicle     

 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $163.6 million for total Tacoma Narrows Bridge revenue 

2017-19 FORECAST: $168.9 million for total Tacoma Narrows Bridge revenue 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $6.5 million increase from every $0.50 increase in TNB toll 

rates. 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.46.100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.56.165
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=468-270-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=468-270-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.46.140
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=468-270-090
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=468-270-095
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BUSINESS LICENSES  
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REVENUE SOURCE: For-Hire Business Permit and Vehicle Certificates 

AUTHORIZED: Chapter 46.72 RCW (for-hire regulation generally) 

RCW 46.72.110 (deposit of for-hire fees) 

Chapter 46.72A RCW (limousine regulation generally) 

RCW 46.72A.110 (deposit of limo fees) 

 

WHO PAYS: Owners of for-hire (taxis) and limousine businesses and vehicles.  

Permit is required for place of business, certificate required in each 

vehicle.  Owners must have liability insurance or post bond.   

RATE: For-Hire (WAC 308-89-060) 

$110 Original and renewals for hire business applications 

$55 Original, changed and duplicate vehicle certificates 

Limousines (WAC 308-83-020)  

$350 Limousine carrier business license applications – new and 

 renewals 

$75 Vehicle certificate – new and renewals 

$20 Changed and duplicate of vehicle certificates 

$25  Training course applications 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Highway Safety Fund 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: For support of expenses incurred in carrying out the licensing and 

regulatory activities of the For-Hire and Limousine programs. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: For-Hire  

1947 $5 one-time-only charge; $1 annual fee per vehicle for 

certificates. 

1993 Annual fee increased to $20 

2012 $20 Original and renewals for hire business applications 

 $20 Original, changed and duplicate vehicle certificates 

2013 $110 Original and renewals for hire business applications 

 $55 Original, changed and duplicate vehicle certificates 

 

Limousines  

1996 $40 Limousine carrier business license application 

 $40 Limousine carrier business license renewal 

 $25 Vehicle certificate 

 $25 Vehicle certificate renewal 

 $20 Change of vehicle certificate 

 $20 Duplicate vehicle certificate 

 $25 Training  course application 

 

2012 $350 Limousine carrier business license applications         

original and renewals  

 $75 Vehicle certificate – original and renewals 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.72
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.72.110
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.72A
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.72A.110
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=308-89-060
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=308-83-020
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   $20 Changed and duplicate of vehicle certificates 

  $25 Training course application 

 

2015-17 FORECAST: For-Hire   $320,400 

Limousine   $803,200 

2017-19 FORECAST: For-Hire                  $282,500 

Limousine               $809,500 

VALUE OF INCREASE: For-Hire   $4,060 per $1 increase per biennium 

Limousine  $4,720 per $1 increase per biennium  

  



120  State Taxes and Fees Transportation Resource Manual 

REVENUE SOURCE: Hulk Haulers and Scrap Processors, Wreckers License Fees 
Restricted to highway purposes 

 

AUTHORIZED: 
RCW 46.79.040 (hulk hauler/scrap processor fee and disposition) 

RCW 46.79.050 (renewal fee) 

RCW 46.79.060 (special plate fee for transported vehicle) 

RCW 46.80.040 (wrecker fee and disposition) 

RCW 46.80.050 (renewal fee) 

WHO PAYS: Hulk haulers – businesses that transport destroyed vehicles or parts 

(Chapter 46.79 RCW) 

Scrap processors – businesses that recycle salvage vehicles through 

baling and shredding (Chapter 46.79 RCW) 

Wreckers – businesses that wreck vehicles for the purpose of selling 

second-hand parts (Chapter 46.80 RCW) 

RATE: 
 

Annual Fee 

Hulk Haulers            $10 new, $10 renewal 

Scrap Processors      $25 new, $10 renewal 

Wreckers                  $25 new, $10 renewal 

Special Plate Fee for Transported Vehicle: $5 original plate, $2 

additional plates 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes 

TAX EXEMPTIONS: None 

TAX HISTORY: Vehicle Wreckers:    1947      $5 original, $2 additional 

Hulk Haulers:            1971     $5 original, $2 additional 

Scrap Processors: 1971     $5 original, $2 additional 

Plate fee, transported vehicle set in 1971 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: Included in Vehicle Dealers and Manufacturers, page 125   

2017–19 FORECAST: Included in Vehicle Dealers and Manufacturers, page 125   

VALUE OF INCREASE: Minimal 

 

 
 

 

 
 

   

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.79.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.79.050
http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.79.060
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.80.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.80.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.79
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.79
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.80
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REVENUE SOURCE: Tow Truck Capacity Fee 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.17.335(2) (fee) 

RCW 46.68.030 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Any fixed-load motor vehicle equipped for lifting or towing any 

disabled, impounded, or abandoned vehicle. 

RATE: $25 per year in addition to the basic motor vehicle registration fee, 

but in lieu of the license fee by weight. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1963 $25 per annum in lieu of combined licensing fee 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $67,825 

2017-19 FORECAST: $65,800 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $2,600 per $1 increase per biennium 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.335
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.68.030
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REVENUE SOURCE: Tow Truck Operator Fee 
Restricted to highway purposes  

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.55.030 (fee and disposition) 

WHO PAYS: Operators of tow truck businesses (i.e., any person who engages in 

the impoundment, transporting, or storage of unauthorized vehicles, 

or the disposal of abandoned vehicles). 

RATE: $100 annual fee for business and $50 per truck per year (plus 

normal registration fee) for permit. 

Special license plates not issued; each tow truck issued a permit 

indicating the class of the truck. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1985 $100/company + $50/truck annually (original & renewal) 

2013-15 ESTIMATE: Included in Vehicle Dealers and Manufacturers, page 125   

2015-17 FORECAST: Included in Vehicle Dealers and Manufacturers, page 125   

VALUE OF INCREASE: Minimal 

  

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.55.030
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REVENUE SOURCE: Transporter License Fee and Plate Fees 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.76.040 (original) 

RCW 46.76.050 (renewal) 

WHO PAYS: Businesses that deal in transportation of vehicles owned by others 

(e.g., drive-away and tow-away services); does not apply to motor 

freight carriers licensed under RCW 81.80. 

RATE: $25  For original license 

$15  For annual renewal license 

$  2 Per set of plates to be attached to vehicles being delivered 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1947 $25 original license; $15 renewal; $2 per set of plates (new 

plates required each year) 

1990 Provision requiring new plate each year deleted 

2013-15 ESTIMATE: Included in Vehicle Dealers and Manufacturers, page 125   

2015-17 FORECAST: Included in Vehicle Dealers and Manufacturers, page 125   

VALUE OF INCREASE: Minimal 

                                                

   

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.76.040
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.76.050
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=81.80
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REVENUE SOURCE: Trip Permit, Dealers and Manufacturers 
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.16A.300 (authority) 

RCW 46.17.400 (1)(a)  (fee) 

RCW 46.17.400 (3)  (where deposited) 
 

WHO PAYS: Auto Dealers and Manufacturers for purposes related to demonstrating vehicles 

for sale and managing fleets 

RATE: $15 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: $  5 Credited to the payment of vehicle license fees  
$10       State Patrol Highway Account  

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for the activities of the State Patrol  

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY 1973 $5 credited to payment of registration fees  

2007 $10 to State Patrol Highway Account, $5 to registration fees 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $15.2 million 

2017-19 FORECAST:: $15.4 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $1 million per $1 increase per biennium 

  

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.16A.300
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.400
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.17.400
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REVENUE SOURCE: Vehicle Dealers and Manufacturers  
Restricted to highway purposes 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 46.70.061 (fees and disposition) 

WHO PAYS: Businesses that sell or manufacture vehicles. 

RATE: Annual Fee – Original Business License 

Dealer – Principal place of business $975  

Dealer – Subagency $100 

Dealer – Temporary subagent  $100  

Manufacturer  $500  

Annual Fee – Renewals 

Dealer – Principal place of business $325  

Dealer – Subagency $ 25 

Manufacturer $250 

  

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Motor Vehicle Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for highway-related purposes 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: Dealers, Principal Place of Business: 

1959 Original license $50; renewal $20   

1973 Renewal $25 

1979 Original license $60; renewal $50 

1986 Original license $500; renewal $250 

2002 Original license $750 

2012 Original license $975; renewal $325 

Dealers, Subagencies and Temporary Subagencies: 

1959 Original license for miscellaneous dealers $25, renewals $10  

1973 Original license and renewal for subagencies $10  

1986 Original license for subagencies $50; for temporary subagencies 

$25; renewal $25  

2002 Original license for subagencies and temporary subagencies 

$100  

Manufacturers:  
1973 Original license $50; renewal $25 

1979 Original license $60; renewal $50   

1986 Original license $500; renewal $250  

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $3.41 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $3.36 million 

Note:  The revenue estimates shown on this page includes license fees collected from Hulk 

Haulers, Scrap Processors, Wreckers, Tow Truck Operators, and Vehicle Transporters. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.70.061
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REVENUE SOURCE: Aircraft Dealers License Fee  

AUTHORIZED: RCW 14.20.050  

RCW 14.20.060 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Aircraft dealers 

RATE: $75 per calendar year.  Additional certificates are $10 each per 

calendar year. 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Transportation – Aviation Division. 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Aeronautics Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: 100% to the Aeronautics Account, appropriated to cover the cost of 

administration of the DOT Aviation Division. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1955 $25 per calendar year 

1998 $75 per calendar year 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: Minimal 

2017-19 FORECAST: Minimal 

VALUE OF INCREASE: Minimal 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=14.20.050
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=14.20.060
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REVENUE SOURCE: Aircraft Registration Fee  

AUTHORIZED: RCW 47.68.250 (effective until July 1, 2021) 

WHO PAYS: Aircraft Owner 

RATE: $15 per annum per aircraft 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Transportation – Aviation Division 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Aeronautics Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Appropriated for activities of the DOT Aviation Division. 

EXEMPTIONS: Aircraft owned by U.S. government or any political subdivision; 

aircraft registered by foreign country; aircraft engaged in interstate 

commerce; aircraft owned by manufacturer or dealer if part of stock 

in trade; aircraft registered in another state unless aircraft based in 

this state for 90 days or longer. 

HISTORY: 1947 Up to $10  

1949 $2 

1967 $4 

1999 $8 

2003 $15 

2015–17 FORECAST: $219,199 

2017-19 FORECAST $212,300 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $14,610 per $1 fee increase per biennium 

 
  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=47.68.250


130  State Taxes and Fees Transportation Resource Manual 

REVENUE SOURCE: Vessel Pilot License Fee 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 88.16.090(7) (authority for Board to set fee) 

WAC 363-116-070 (fee) 

RCW 88.16.061 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Pilots licensed by the state to operate foreign flagged vessels for the 

purpose of assisting navigation through Washington waters; the two 

pilotage districts in the state are the Puget Sound and Grays Harbor 

districts. 

RATE: $6,500  per year  

ADMINISTERED BY: Board of Pilotage Commissioners 

WHERE DEPOSITED: Pilotage Account 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Allotted for administration and operations of the Board of Pilotage 

Commissioners. 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1935 $100 

1977 $250 

11979 Not to exceed $1000; set by Board of Pilotage

 Commissioners (BPC) 

11986 Not to exceed $1500; set by BPC 

1995 $2500 

2001 $3000 

2007 $6000 

2011 $6500 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $0.75 million per biennium 

2017-19 FORECAST: $0.75 million per biennium 

VALUE OF INCREASE: 1% increase in fee per biennium is minimal 

 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=88.16.090
http://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=363-116-070
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=88.16.061
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REVENUE SOURCE: Vessel Registration Fee 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 88.02.560 (authority) 

RCW 88.02.640(1)(k) (fees) 

RCW 88.02.650 (where deposited) 

WHO PAYS: Owners of registered vessels 

RATE: $10.50 per year 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: General Fund 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: All revenue in excess of $1.1 million per fiscal year is allocated by 

the State Treasurer to counties with approved boating safety, 

education, and law enforcement programs.  Eligibility is contingent 

on approval by the State Parks and Recreation Commission. 

 

EXEMPTIONS: 

 

Military and government vessels not for recreational use, foreign 

vessels, U.S. Customs cruising vessels, vessels registered and used 

in other states, vessels temporarily in Washington for repairs, 

vessels with less than 10 horsepower motors used as transportation 

from shore to a registered vessel, vessels under 16 feet with less 

than 10 horsepower motors used on non-federally regulated waters, 

commercial fishing vessels assessed by Department of Revenue, and 

others described in RCW 88.02.570. 

HISTORY: 1984 $6.00 annual registration fee 

1994 $10.50 annual registration fee 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: $5.3 million 

2017-19 FORECAST: $5.3 million 

VALUE OF INCREASE: $469,100 per $1 fee increase per biennium 

  

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=88.02.560
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=88.02.640
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=88.02.650
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=88.02.570
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REVENUE SOURCE:  Vessel Visitor Permit 

AUTHORIZED: RCW 88.02.610 (authorized) 

RCW 88.02.640 (1)(p) (fee and disposition) 

WHO PAYS: Vessels owned by nonresidents brought into Washington 

temporarily, for no more than six months in a continuous 12-month 

period. 

RATE: $30 at the time of issuance of identification document 

ADMINISTERED BY: Department of Licensing 

WHERE DEPOSITED: General Fund 

Derelict Vessel Removal Account (RCW 79.100.100) 

DISTRIBUTION & USE: Allocated as follows: 

     (a) Five dollars must be deposited in the derelict vessel removal 

account created in RCW 79.100.100; 

 

     (b) The department may keep an amount to cover costs for 

providing the vessel visitor permit; 

 

     (c) Any moneys remaining must be allocated to counties by the 

state treasurer for approved boating safety programs under 

RCW 88.02.650 

 

EXEMPTIONS: None 

HISTORY: 1998 $25 

2002 $30 

2015-17 ESTIMATE: Minimal 

2017-19 FORECAST: Minimal 

VALUE OF INCREASE: Minimal 
 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=88.02.610
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=88.02.640
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=79.100.100
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=88.02.650

